Back to IndieWire

Coppola to Receive DGA’s Highest Honor

Coppola to Receive DGA's Highest Honor

by Aaron Krach

The Directors Guild of America will award Francis Ford Coppola the D.W. Griffith Award, for “distinguished career achievement in motion picture directing.” The Griffith award is the Guild’s highest honor. Coppola will be officially presented with the award at the 50th anniversary DGA Awards on March 7, 1998.

Coppola has directed over twenty feature films in his career including; “The Conversation“, “The Outsiders“, “Apocalypse Now“, and “The Godfather“. Over his thirty year career he has won an Academy Award, a Golden Globe and the DGA Award for directing.

The D.W. Griffith Ward was first presented in 1953, and has been bestowed twenty-eight times.

This Article is related to: News and tagged