You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Films submitted for Best Foreign Language Film of 1998

Films submitted for Best Foreign Language Film of 1998

Argentina, “Tango,” Carlos Saura;

Austria, “The Inheritors,” Stefan Ruzowitzky;

Belgium, “Rosie,” Patrice Toye;

Brazil, “Central Station,” Walter Salles;

Canada, “August 32nd on Earth,” Denis Villeneuve;

China,”Genghis Khan,” Mr. Saifu & Ms. Mailisi;

Colombia, “La Vendedora de Rosas,” Victor Gaviria;

Croatia, “Transatlantic,” Mladen Juran;

Czech Republic, “Sekal Has to Die,” Vladimir Michélek;

Denmark, “The Celebration,” Thomas Vinterberg;

Finland, “A Summer by the River,” Markku Pölönen;

France, “Dreamlife of Angels,” Erick Zonca;

Germany, “Run Lola Run,” Tom Tykwer;

Greece, “Eternity and a Day,” Theo Angelopoulos;

Hong Kong, “Made in Hong Kong,” Fruit Chan;

Hungary, “Gypsy Lore,” Bence Gyöngyössy;

Iceland, “Count Me Out,” Ari Kristinsson;

India, “Jeans,” Shankar;

Indonesia, “Leaf on a Pillow,” Christine Hakim;

Iran, “Children of the Heaven,” Majid Majidi;

Israel, “Circus Palestine,” Eyal Halrfon;

Italy, “Life is Beautiful,” Roberto Benigni;

Japan, “Begging for Love,” Hideyuki Hirayama;

Kyrgyzstan, “The Adopted Son,” Aktan Abdykalydov;

Lebanon, “West Beirut,” Ziad Koueiri;

Luxembourg, “Back in Trouble,” Andy Bausch;

Macedonia, “Good-Bye, 20th Century,” Aleksandar Popovski & Darko Mitrevski;

Mexico, “A Spell,” Carlos Carrera;

Morocco, “Mektoub,” Nabyl Ayouch;

The Netherlands, “The Polish Bride,” Karim Traïdia;

Norway, “Only Clouds Move the Stars,” Torun Lian;

The Philippines, “In the Navel of the Sea,” Marilou Diaz-Abaya;

Portugal, “Anxiety,” Manoel De Oliveira;

Puerto Rico, “Heroes without a Cause,” Iván Dariel Ortiz;

Romania, “Terminus Paradis,” Lucian Pintilie;

Russia, “Barber of Siberia,” Nikita Mikhalkov;

Slovak Republic, “River of Babylon,” Vlado Balco;

Spain, “El Abuelo,” José Luis Garci;

Sweden, “Show Me Love,” Lukas Moodysson;

Switzerland, “La Guerre dans le Haut Pays,” Francis Reusser;

Taiwan, “Flowers of Shanghai,” Hou Hsiao-Hsien;

Thailand, “Who Is Running?,” Oxide Pang Chun;

Venezuela, “Loop,” Julio Sosa Pietri;

Wales, “Cameleons,” Ceri Sherlock;

Yugoslavia, “The Powder Keg,” GoranPaskaljevi.

This Article is related to: News and tagged