Back to IndieWire

Cannes Winner Predictions

Cannes Winner Predictions

I’m a sucker for awards prognosis, and even though I’m not in Cannes, writing daily round ups has forced me to scour daily coverage, and made me feel close enough to wager a mildly educated guess at this years awards – despite the fact that I haven’t seen the films, and that they are notoriously difficult to predict. There’s still two days left (and two movies to screen), but I’m heading off to the France of the West tomorrow for a weekend of poutine and Celine Dion sing-a-longs, so this is (hopefully) my last few moments online for a day or two. I’m going with some pretty standard choices (except for maybe Lars, but I’m thinking Asia Argento might have enough say to get him something), so I’ll likely be very wrong:

Palme d’Or: “The White Ribbon,” directed by Michael Haneke

Grand Prix (runner-up): “A Prophet,” directed by Jacques Audiard

Prix de la Mise en Scene (best director): Lars Von Trier for “Antichrist”

Prix du Scenario (best screenplay): Jane Campion for “Bright Star”

Camera d’Or (best first feature): “Precious,” directed by Lee Daniels

Prix du Jury (jury prize): “Fish Tank,” directed by Andrea Arnold

Prix d’interpretation feminine (best actress): Giovanna Mezzogiorno for “Vincere”

Prix d’interpretation masculine (best actor): Tahar Rahim for “A Prophet”

This Article is related to: Uncategorized



I agree, msic, re: Suleiman. I posted these before the reactions really came out, and if I re-did the predictions, I’d definitely include “Time That Remains,” perhaps for screenplay over “Bright Star.” “Enter The Void” also has a shot at the jury prize over “Fish Tank.”


Haneke may win the prestigious palme, but who knows?!
Anyway, would have picked the same movie because of the presence of Huppert in the jury.


These predix seem fairly sound, although the Suleiman looks like a late-breaking spoiler. And frankly I hope so; he’s a great filmmaker who can use the boost in profile far more than Herr Haneke.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *