Back to IndieWire

“Messenger,” “Precious” Lead Winners in Deauville

"Messenger," "Precious" Lead Winners in Deauville

Oren Moverman’s “The Messenger” led the winners of the 35th edition of the Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville. A jury presided over by Jean-Pierre Jeunet awarded Moverman’s film – which stars Ben Foster, Woody Harrelson and Samantha Morton – the fest’s Grand Prix. It also won the International Critic’s Prize. “Messenger” – which debuted at Sundance earlier this year – is being released in the US this November through Oscilloscope Laboratories. The festival’s jury also consisted of Hiam Abbas, Emilie Dequenne, Deborah François, Sandrine Kiberlain, Géraldine Pailhas, Dany Boon, Jean-Loup Dabadie, Patrice Leconte and Bruno Podalydès.

Other major winners at the fest – which ran September 4-13 – included Lee Daniels’ “Precious” and Cary Joji Fukunaga’s “Sin Nombre,” which tied for the Prix du Jury, and Lynn Shelton’s “Humpday,” which won the Cartier Newcomer Award.

This Article is related to: News and tagged