You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Oscar Watch: Bigelow First Woman to Win DGA Award

Oscar Watch: Bigelow First Woman to Win DGA Award

Thompson on Hollywood

It means less for Avatar to have won best drama and director at the Golden Globes than to have lost best film at the Producers Guild and best director at the Directors Guild, both times to The Hurt Locker. And it means less for Inglourious Basterds to have won best ensemble at the Screen Actors Guild than to have lost at the PGA and DGA. See where I am going? Kathryn Bigelow’s DGA win Saturday night (the first to a woman in 61 years) is a sign of continued strength for that film, which could well repeat at the Oscars. (BTW, Bigelow, 58, does not look older than her ex-husband, Cameron, 55).

Not to get too far ahead of ourselves, though: the real reading of tea leaves and temperature-taking takes place Tuesday morning. How many nominations will each of these films get? I predict as many as nine for Avatar, though it could be less. And although I gave up my seat at the DGAs last night to nurse a cold (a potion of powerful Chinese tea put me out for 12 hours), I’ll be at the Oscar nominations bright and early February 2 to pick up my info packet. That’s the important stuff. I won’t be taking reaction calls. I will be analyzing what it all means.

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , ,



“does not look older than her ex-husband”? She looks way younger than her ex-husband.


I was looking at how the DGA awards, PGA awards and Oscar (Best Picture/Best Director) stack up. Because I’ve seen comments of each individually, but not anything on when the DGA and PGA agree.

Since 1989, when the PGA award started, the two groups have made the same selection 15 times (this year being the 15th time).

Out of those, 11 times were years when Best Picture/Best Director aligned. The two groups got 10 of those correct. The miss was 1995 when they both picked Apollo 13 & Ron Howard. Braveheart & Mel Gibson won, and Ron Howard wasn’t nominated for Best Director.

The other 3 were years that Best Picture/Best Director split – 2005, 2002 & 1998. The DGA & PGA got the Best Director correct twice – 2005 (Ang Lee for Brokeback) & 1998 (Spielberg for Saving Private Ryan). And they got the Best Picture right in 2002 (Chicago).

So, when two groups agree, the only time they didn’t correctly select the winner was the one year when the director was not nominated. I think it’s pretty safe to bet that Kathryn Bigelow will be nominated this year. :)

The rest of the time, if Best Picture and Best Director aligned at the Oscars, they’re 100% correct. If awards split, odds are with the Best Director being right.

Seems that the question might be whether the Academy will honor both Cameron & Bigelow this year (with a split for Best Director & Best Picture) or not.


First woman to win the DGA award EVER, in 62 years! All I can say is, IT’S ABOUT TIME! EEesh.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *