Back to IndieWire

‘The Social Network’ Wins Big At National Board Of Review Awards; ‘Black Swan,’ ‘127 Hours’ Ignored

'The Social Network' Wins Big At National Board Of Review Awards; 'Black Swan,' '127 Hours' Ignored

While Oscar prognosticators tend to overanalyze each set of awards from various organizations and critics group, they are mostly interesting to see how various films play with different organizations.

The 110-member National Board Of Review has handed out their awards for this year, and while Oscar favorite “The Social Network” walked away with Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor and Best Adapted Screenplay, their announcement is almost just as notable for what’s missing. Three very high profile, awards season candidates — Danny Boyle‘s “127 Hours,” Darren Aronofsky‘s “Black Swan” and Lisa Cholodenko‘s “The Kids Are All Right” — are nowhere to be found, not even in the Top Eleven Films (“Hereafter“? Really?) or Top Ten Independent Films (“Buried“? “Youth In Revolt“? Really?) lists. Perhaps Fox Searchlight didn’t get their screeners out in time? Or maybe Focus Features only sent them copies of Sofia Coppola‘s “Somewhere“? Regardless, they are some pretty glaring omissions.

So, how does this bode for Oscar season? Well, last year the NBR fell in love with “Up In The Air” which did zilch at the Academy Awards, however, in the previous two years, the winner of the NBR’s best picture award has gone on to take home the Oscar. So take that for whatever it’s worth. Full list of winners after the jump. [IndieWire]

Best Film: The Social Network

Best Director: David Fincher, The Social Network

Best Actor: Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network

Best Actress: Lesley Manville, Another Year

Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter

Best Supporting Actress: Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom

Best Foreign Film: Of Gods and Men

Best Documentary: Waiting For “Superman”

Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3

Best Ensemble Cast: The Town

Breakthrough Performance: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone

Spotlight Award for Best Directorial Debut: Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington, Restrepo

Best Original Screenplay: Chris Sparling, Buried

Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network

Special Filmmaking Achievement Award: Sofia Coppola, for writing, directing, and producing Somewhere

William K. Everson Film History Award: Leonard Maltin

NBR Freedom of Expression: Fair Game, Conviction, Howl

Top Eleven Films (In alphabetical order):
Another Year
The Fighter
The King’s Speech
Shutter Island
The Social Network
The Town
Toy Story 3
True Grit
Winter’s Bone

Top Ten Independent Films (In alphabetical order):
Animal Kingdom
Fish Tank
The Ghost Writer
Let Me In
Please Give
Youth in Revolt

Top Six Foreign Films (In alphabetical order):
I Am Love
Life, Above All
Of Gods And Men
Soul Kitchen
White Material

Top Six Documentary Films (In alphabetical order):
A Film Unfinished
Inside Job
Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work
The Tillman Story
Waiting For “Superman”

This Article is related to: Uncategorized and tagged , ,



I predicted Social Network to take Best Pic, Director and Screenplay before I even saw it, and it appears it’s on track to do just that. It will not win Best Actor (that will be between Firth and Franco) or Supporting Actor (that will be between Rush and Bale), but Fincher is due and like I’ve pointed out before, his competetion (Coens and Boyle) have won recently. 127 Hours can’t be ignored by the Academy though, not with 93% on Rotten Tomatoes, but of course they did ignore Into the Wild, so who knows. And how did The Town take Best Ensemble and not The Social Network…or Inception…or True Grit? Just saying.


The Social Network is a LOCK for a Best Adapted Screenplay Oscar WIN, but only a lock for NOMS in Best Picture, Best Director and Best Actor.

Drew Taylor

The inclusion of “Hereafter” is much more egregious, but these nerds also had the dull as rock “Invictus” in there last year too. Eh.

Kimber Myers

I’ll admit that this has not been an exciting year for film, but I cannot get past the inclusion of Greenberg.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *