Back to IndieWire

“King’s Speech”‘s Tom Hooper Takes DGA Award

"King's Speech"'s Tom Hooper Takes DGA Award

The Directors Guild of America have announced their annual awards, with “The King’s Speech”‘s Tom Hooper surprising as the big winner over expected winner David Fincher.

The DGA Award traditionally been a near perfect barometer for the Best Director Academy Award. Only six times since the DGA Award’s inception has the DGA Award winner not won the Academy Award; in 1968 (Carol Reed won the Oscar for directing Oliver!); 1972 (Bob Fosse won the Oscar for directing Cabaret); 1985 (Sydney Pollack won the Oscar for directing Out of Africa); 1995 (Mel Gibson won for directing Braveheart); 2000 (Steven Soderbergh won the Oscar for directing Traffic); and 2002 (Roman Polanski won the Oscar for directing The Pianist).

The complete list of winners, including the documentary winner, is below:

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film
Tom Hooper, The King’s Speech

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary
Charles Ferguson, Inside Job

This Article is related to: News



It’s almost 1:00 when do they announce the winners already?


Well, when are the winners announced?

David Fox

It’s well past midnight in the East. Why aren’t the winners known?


Is ANYONE live blogging this event?


It is 11:08 Central Standard Time. Where are the results?


Sometimes there is justice in handing out awards to the most deserving person!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *