Back to IndieWire

Iran’s “Separation” Wins Berlinale’s Golden Bear

Iran's "Separation" Wins Berlinale's Golden Bear

In a big night for Iranian film “Jodaeiye Nader Az Simin” (Nader and Simin, A Separation) by Asghar Farhadi, the feature picked up three high profile awards, including the Golden Bear, capping the 2011 Berlin International Film Festival in the German capital Saturday night. The film also took the best acting prizes for its ensemble cast. In other prizes, Ulrich Kohler won Best Director for “Schlafkrankheit” (Sleeping Sickness), while Best Screenplay went to Joshua Marston and Andamion Murataj for “The Forgiveness of Blood.”

Golden Bear: “Jodaeiye Nader Az Simin” (Nader and Simin, A Separation) by Asghar Farhadi

Silver Bear – The Jury Grand Prize: “A Torinoi Lo” (The Turin Horse) by Bela Tarr

Silver Bear – Best Director: Ulrich Kohler for “Schlafkrankheit” (Sleeping Sickness)

Silver Bear – Best Actress: Female Ensemble for “Jodaeiye Nader Az Simin” Leila Hatami, Sareh Bayat, Sarina Farhadi, Kimia Hosseini, and Shirin Yazdanbakhsh

Silver Bear – Best Actor: Male Ensemble for “Jodaeiye Nader Az Simin” Peyman Moaadi, Shahab Hosseini, Ali-Asghar Shahbazi, and Babak Karimi

Silver Bear – Best Screenplay: “The Forgiveness of Blood” written by Joshua Marston and Andamion Murataj

Silver Bear – Artistic Contribution (shared): Wojciech Staron, Best Cinematography, for “El Premio” and Barbara Enriquez, Production Design, for “El Premio”

Alfred Bauer Prize: “If Not Us Who” (Wer Wenn Nicht Wir) by Andres Velel

Best First Feature Award: “On the Ice” by Andrew Okpeaha MacLean

Special Mention: “The Guard” by John Michael McDonagh

Special Mention: “Die Vaterlosen” by Marie Kreutzer

A list of awards previously announced at the festival follows:

Crystal Bear for the Best Kplus Feature Film: “Keeper’n til Liverpool” by Arild Andresen (Norway)
Special Mention: “Mabul” by Guy Nattiv, Israel/Canada/Germany/France

Crystal Bear for the Best Kplus Short Film: “Lily” by Kasimir Burgess (Australia)
Special Mention: “Minnie Loves Junior” by Andy Mullins and Matthew Mullins (Australia)

Crystal Bear for the Best 14plus Feature Film: “On the Ice” by Andrew Okpeaha MacLean (U.S.)
Special Mention: “Apflickorna” by Lisa Aschan (Sweden)

Crystal Bear for the Best 14plus Short Film: “Manurewa” by Sam Peacocke (New Zealand)
Special Mention: “Get Real!” by Evert de Beijer (Netherlands)

Panorama Section Audience Award, Fiction Film: “También la lluvia” (Even The Rain) by Icíar Bollaín (Spain/France/Mexico)
Second Place: “Medianeras” by Gustavo Taretto (Argentina/Germany/Spain)
Third Place: “Life in a Day” by Kevin Macdonald (Great Britain)

Panorama Section Audience Award, Documentary Film: “In Heaven Underground – The Weissensee Jewish Cemetery” (Im Himmel, Unter der Erde. Der Jüdische Friedhof Weißensee) by Britta Wauer (Germany)
Second Place: “Mama Africa” by Mika Kaurismäki (Germany/South Africa/Finland)
Third Place: “We Were Here” by David Weissman (USA)

Short Film DAAD Scholarship Award: “La Ducha” by Maria José San Martín (Chile)

EFA Nominee Berlin (Best European Short Film): “Återfödelsen” (The Unliving) by Hugo Lilja (Sweden)

Dialogue in Perspective Prize (for French-German cultural dialogue): “Die Ausbildung” (The Education) by Dirk Lütter

This Article is related to: News and tagged



Bela Tarr was known to me only through Gus Van Sant who has written essays and articles on the director’s work and used a lot of his aesthetic ideas (especially those long steady shots) in his own films. The Turin Horse brings greatness of directorial craft from the first to the last shot – it feels monotonous but compelling at the same time; the simplicity of the story and its monumental scope are at the same time bizzare and fascinating.

Nader And Simin

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *