On Location at the El Capitan

On Location at the El Capitan


The current episode of my ReelzChannel show Maltin on Movies was shot at the historic El Capitan Theatre in Hollywood. Since it’s the flagship for all Disney releases, we thought it would be fun to make this an all-Disney show. I feature a wide array of studio films, both recent and vintage, and I interview staff organist Ed Vodicka at the console of the theater’s Mighty Wurlitzer organ.

Click the arrow to watch the entire show.



See Maltin on Movies on Reelz Channel, Friday 5:30pm ET/ 2:30pm PT and Sun. 10:00am ET / 7:00am PT. For past episodes see Maltin on Movies online.

This Article is related to: Features and tagged ,


Kathy G.

Enjoyed your all-Disney video review this week, as well as the behind-the-scenes at the El Capitan Theatre. Have lived in Los Angeles for close to 40 years, and have yet to get to the El Capitan…this has certainly piqued my interest. The last time I was at a theatre that had a live organ was in my hometown of Seattle, where they played the silent version of Mark of Zorro back in the 1960s.


Classic Maltin treatise of the History of Movie Theatres, when they supplied real live “entertainment”, like the Mighty Wurlitzer, not uncommon across the USA, like the Fox Theater in St. Louis. Where the late Stan Kahn played for many years. Ed Vodicka follows in this hallowed profession, when theatres were more than just films. They are the good ol’ days, not just for high brows…

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *