Back to IndieWire

Disney’s 2012-14 ABC DGA Directing Program Finalists Announced (Karamuu Kush, Tina Mabry, Others Make The Cut)

Disney's 2012-14 ABC DGA Directing Program Finalists Announced (Karamuu Kush, Tina Mabry, Others Make The Cut)

I once applied to this program years ago, but didn’t get selected; I haven’t applied since, mostly because of this whol blogging thing that’s taken over my life in recent years :)

Disney’s ABC Talent Development & Diversity initiative has played an integral part in helping to launch a few successful careers in the entertainment industry.

Its programs are designed to attract, develop and staff talents from diverse backgrounds and life experiences in either creative or production positions.

Those accepted into the talent development programs are given the opportunity to hone their skills and perfect their craft under the supervision of network and studio executives, producers, writers and/or episodic directors.

The finalists selected for the 2012-14 ABC DGA Directing Program have been announced, selected from an abundance of solid quality entries, with each submission judged by a combination of programming executives, talent development executives, ABC series producers and DGA members.

Many factors weighed into each piece of material’s score including pacing/execution of storytelling, emotional resonance, visual appeal, technical execution, performances and overall production value.

Congratulations to those of you who have been selected – a list that follows below, and that includes a few names many of you will immediately recognize, like Karamuu Kush (the winner of the 3rd Shadow And Act Black Filmmaker Challenge), Rashaad Ernesto GreenJerry LaMothe, Tina Mabry, Moon Molson, Nzingha Stewart and others. 

The full list follows below (congrats to all and good luck with what comes next!):


Fidel Arizmendi

Sonia Bhalla

Clayton Cogswell

Ryan Coogler

Monique Gabriela Curnen

Vince Duque

Amy French

Risa Bramon Garcia

Rashaad Ernesto Green

Rob Greenlea

Ron Jacobs

Aundre Johnson

Shalini Kantayya

Regina King

Karamuu Kush

Jerry LaMothe

Maxine Lapiduss

Tina Mabry

Geeta Malik

Lily Mariye

David Martin-Porras

Marc Masciandaro

Kimberly McCullough

Moon Molson

Anne Renton

Victor Ridaura

Joan Schimke

Velvet Andrews Smith

Casey Stangl

Nzingha Stewart

Jude Weng

This Article is related to: News



Congrats Jerry! "Amour Infinity" still gets a monthly watch from me. As soon as "Tombs" is released, I will watch again with all of my brothers and we will have a huge discussion.

Dan Kroll

congrats to kimberly mccullough. her short film, "nice guys finish last" was an excellent piece of filmmaking!! here's one to watch in the near future.

Said in Los Angeles

Nzinga Stewart? Is she the same director from back in the day?

Ziggy Sirjack

We hope all these directors submit a 45 sec or less comedy video explaining why people like weed for the upcoming feature film Gone to Pot. The top 10 videos will appear in the film and the top 3 will share $10,000. Celeb judges include comedian Margaret Cho and Academy Award nominated director Peter Bogdanovich. Free to enter. Good luck to everyone.


Interesting. Risa Bramon Garcia is also a fairly well-known casting director. And is it THAT Regina King? I know that actors Nikki Micheaux and Rondell Sheridan are former finalists/participants.

Eric Haywood

Congrats to all the finalists! I hear this is an EXTREMELY tough program to get into.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *