You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

‘Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection’: Universal Continues to Celebrate 100 with 15-Film Box Set

'Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection': Universal Continues to Celebrate 100 with 15-Film Box Set

Well, this is exciting. To continue Universal’s year-long 100th anniversary celebration, the studio is releasing “Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection.” The box set has a whopping fifteen of the Hitch’s films, with thirteen newly and never before on Blu-ray.

The set spans three-and-a-half decades of the Brit director’s American period in filmmaking, and includes: “Psycho,” “The Birds,” “Vertigo,” “Rear Window,” “North by Northwest,” “The Man Who Knew Too Much,” “Marnie,” “Saboteur,” “Shadow of a Doubt,” “Rope,” “The Trouble with Harry,” “Torn Curtain,” “Topaz, “Frenzy” and “Family Plot.”

“The Masterpiece Collection” also includes a fifty-page booklet featuring Hitchcock’s famous storyboards, costume sketches and stills, and fifteen hours of filmmaker commentary, interviews and a new doc titled “‘The Birds,’ Hitchcock’s Monster Movie.”

The set is available September 25, for a limited time only.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,



I think 'Marine' might be 'Marnie'.


Not quite so exciting to those of us who bought the last iteration of this set a few years ago. If Universal really gave a crap about its home-entertainment customers, they'd release some of the hundreds and hundreds of films in their library that haven't been put out even once, instead of reissuing the same old tired titles again and again.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *