You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Two Women Nominated for 2013 Writers Guild Awards

Two Women Nominated for 2013 Writers Guild Awards

Last week, the Writers Guild of America announced the nominees for this year’s Writers Guild Awards.  Out of all the categories, original, adapted and documentary screenplay—only two women were nominated this year, both in the documentary category.  This is always a hard award to look at because not all films that you think would be nominated actually get nominated because of a variety of issues.  In Contention lays out why some don’t qualify: “Reasons for failing to qualify include the writer of the script not being a guild member or not retroactively handling the requisite process, among other things.”  Maybe that’s one reason why we have so few women nominated. 

The Writers Guild Award winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on February 17.

Here are the two women nominated for this year’s awards. You can find a full list of the nominees at the link below.

Documentary Feature:

The Central Park Five, written by Sarah Burns and David McMahon and Ken Burns

West of Memphis, written by Amy Berg & Billy McMillin

WGA Announced Nominations (The Hollywood Reporter)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , ,