10 Female Filmmakers to Follow on Twitter

10 Female Filmmakers to Follow on Twitter

The majority of the top 20 most followed people on Twitter are women (Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Taylor Swift and Britney Spears to name a few), but when it comes to filmmakers, women are underrepresented on Twitter.

When we began compiling a list of filmmakers who are active and influential on Twitter, we quickly noticed that women were far and few between. Is it because male filmmakers are more comfortable with self-promotion or that women filmmakers are simply busier with other aspects of their lives?

We managed to come up with this list of 10 female filmmakers (directors and producers) on Twitter. This is by no means a definite and comprehensive list and we are open to suggestions for who should be added to future lists (please post in the comments below). Note they are not listed in any particular order.

1. Gale Anne Hurd @GunnerGale

2. Miranda July @Miranda_July

3. Sarah Polley @SarahEPolley

4. Lena Dunham @LenaDunham

5. Jane Rosenthal @JaneTribeca

6. Lucy Walker @LucyWalkerFilm

7. Ava DuVernay @AVAETC

8. Katie Aselton @duplaselton

9. Allison Anders @MsAllisonAnders

10. Lynn Shelton @lynnsheltonfilm

Who else should we add to the list?

NOTE: We updated the list and added your suggestions. See the crowdsourced list of Top 40 Female Filmmakers on Twitter.

This Article is related to: Tech and tagged , ,


Comments

Bella Maggie

don't forget…the new girl on the block –
writer, director, producer Ileana D Vasquez
@IleanaDV

DocLover!

Maya Gallus & Justine Pimlott, the prolific and talented women at Red Queen Productions! For the past 10 years they have been releasing one awesome "estrodoc" after another – The Mystery of Mazo de la Roche, Dish: Women, Waitressing & the Art of Service, Girl Inside, Fag Hags: Women Who Love Gay Men, Punch Like A Girl, Erotica: A Journey Into Female Sexuality, and upcoming Derby Crazy Love! They are Canada's reigning documentary queens!

RedQueenProductions@RedQueenRules

Elena Rossini

I've been adding your amazing suggestions to this Twitter list: https://twitter.com/_elena/lists/women-in-film
About 1/3 of the way done… :)

FilmLover

Christine Vachon @kvpi
Diablo Cody ‏ @diablocody
Rona Edwards @RonaEdwards
Lauren Shuler Donner @ShuDonner
Betsy Beers @BeersBetsy
Shonda Rhimes @shondarhimes

Tonjia Atomic

Jessie Gotta @gottaenk !
I'm Tonjia Atomic @tonjiaatomic

Marian

@amancaytapia
Dee Leonard ‏ ‪@aCreativeBoi
Carol Morley ‏ ‪@_CarolMorley
@JennieLivingsto
Ramona Maramonte ‏‪@MomsGotMuscle
Jen Sachs/Ruby Lopez ‏‪@flightsofsophie
Stephanie Law ‏‪@sphinxmagic &
Little Miss J Film ‏ ‪@littlemissjihad
lisarussellfilm ‏‪@lisarussellfilm
Lisa Jackson ‪@jackson_films
Just The Tip ‏‪@JustTheTipMovie, a documentary film by ‪@FeministGolzar
Karen Lam ‏‪@opiatepix
Katrina Mathers ‏‪@katminsky
aliklay ‏‪@aliklay
Cheryl Pollak ‏‪@cpollakiz
Sheila Jackson Hardy. ‏‪@NiceandRough

Briony Kidd

Here's a few…. Sorry if any duplication.

USA/Canada genre directors
@thatjenlynch Jennifer Lynch
@Opiatepix Karen Lam
@Kimyoofilm Lori Bowen
@quirkfilms Maude Michaud
@jenniferblancb Jennifer Blanc-Biehn
@ShannonLark
@EmilyCarmichael
@Twisted_Twins Jen and Sylvia Soska
@swoomer Sara Woomer
@bstepansky Barbara Stepansky
@JovankaVuckovic
@AxelleCarolyn
@Cruell LC Cruell
@ojpstudios Nina Herten
@hannahneurotica
@tonjiaatomic Tonjia Atomi
@megisaweirdo Meg Pinsonneault

Australian genre directors
@queenripsnort Rebecca Thomson
@BrionyKidd
@UrsulaDabrowsky
@JohnnyGhostfilm Donna McRae
@Carmen_Falk
@MeganRiakos
@DarkLakeTweets Heidi Lee Douglas
@MiriStone Miri Stone

UK / European genre directors
@AsiaArgento
@GigiConG Gigi Romero

Tony

Director Arlene Bogna @rockstarawesome

TheDarkness

‏ @turnerguinevere must be on this list! She wrote "American Psycho" and has been known on Twitter as "the grande dame of dyke cinema."

hillvirginia616@yahoo.com

my friend's sister makes $83/hour on the laptop. She has been
out of a job for 9 months but last month her pay check was $13055 just
working on the laptop for a few hours. Read more on this site http://7.ly/bQ2C

Zeina

@NadineLabaki

chadwick nelson

Lynne Ramsay

Melissa

@reellives – Melissa Dopp

@devt 's blog about women and film, Wellywood Women (http://wellywoodwoman.blogspot.com/)

Jenni Olson

@GurinderC
@TurnerGuinevere
@JenniOlsonSF

bolex

@elleschneider female filmmaker, one of the makers of the digital bolex camera

JM

IndieWire,
It would be amazing to see an updated list above as well as curated live Twitter list. I'd love to follow of these women and liven up my Twitter feed.

Definitely hope you add Australian director Catriona McKenzie (@catrionamckenzi). Just today her feature film Satellite Boy won the best dramatic feature award at Toronto's ImagineNative Film Festival.
https://twitter.com/catrionamckenzi

Dharra

Don't forget @JenSiebelNewsom – she's phenomenal!

Christin mell

Christin Mell @christintello
Jessica king @kingisafink
Rolla Selbak @rollaselbak

sakara

sarah polley one in a long line of actors, male and female, who turn to directing cause they know their acting days are over, and easier to get a directing job.

most directors now days are has-been actors.

Said in Los Angeles

Sanna Hamri, yet I haven't been able to find her on Twitter…he is a directors director…

Morey Bean

Alexandria Bombach! She just finished a very successful Kickstarter and is filming in Afghanistan! Frame by Frame @ABombach

Virginia

I just started a Paper.li daily paper using the Twitter list of women directors mentioned here. The daily paper at http://paper.li/vdebolt/1382199085 will publish tweets from the women on the list. It is very easy to make a paper.li project from any public twitter list and the resulting daily paper is an easy way to track a group of people in just a few minutes a day. You can subscribe to the daily paper and a daily tweet will remind you to check it.

Maja Kvendseth

Amber Benson?

Elena Rossini

Great comments thread. Thank you so much for making me discover so many more female directors with Twitter accounts (I wasn't aware that the likes of Catherine Breillat and Callie Khouri were on Twitter).

Some other favorites of mine:
– Gia Coppola (@MasterGia22)
– Tiffany Shlain (@tiffanyshlain)
– Therese Shechter (@TrixieFilms)
– Abigail Disney (@abigaildisney)
– Emily Abt (@emilyabt)
– Floria Sigismondi (@floriamamaroma)
– Chris Hegedus (@C_Hegedus)

I'm also a woman director who actively tweets about film at: @_elena

Daniel Delago

To get the most out of Twitter, my suggestion is not to follow any celebrities. They rarely follow back and usually do not have anything profound to say.

Nicky

Mira Nair

michael

You can add @Madonna to the list.

Krista @thisvoiceofmine

Wow! This post and excellent comments make a twitter treasure trove! Page is already bookmarked.

Catherine Grealish

You are missing Megan Griffiths – @thecinechick. Latest films: Eden and Lucky Them. She is awesome, as is Lynn Shelton.

electriclynn

SALLY FIELDS!! The Best

Beth Gosnell

Kat Candler from Austin TX "Cicadas", "Hellion" etc.

Naomi

Miranda Bailey @ambushent of Ambush Entertainment, who produces, directs, distributes and acts.
Also the winner of this year's Sundance Directing award is a woman: @Jillsolo for her amazing film Afternoon Delight.

M

Catherine Hardwicke @C_Hardwicke

cheyann Montiel reagan

I'm a indie writer.director.producer. I love SciFi and I'm a dreamer by trade. You'll find that on my twitter @cheyannmreagan

Paula Bernstein

Loving all of these great suggestions… the list is getting longer! Keep 'em coming.

TM

Seconded:

Megan Griffiths @thecinechick
JaneEspenson @JaneEspenson

bmossnyc

Add to these great additions — Lydia Dean Pilcher @queendean Megan Ellison @meganeellison
the good news is there are many voices ready to be heard. I am Producer, Founder of the Women's Film Preservation Fund@bmossnyc who uses Twitter extensively for research, access.

Stephanie

Catherine Hardwicke- @C_Hardwicke

Sharon

Massy Tadjedin @mtadjedin
Diablo Cody @diablocody

Leah Meyerhoff

I am part of a female filmmaker collective called Film Fatales and a lot of us are active on Twitter:
Alexandra Roxo @alexandraroxo
Barbara Kopple @barbarakopple
Bridget Stokes @murphystokes
Caryn Waechter @SisterhoodMovie
Cherien Dabis @CherienDabis
Eliza Hittman @ElizaHittman
Hannah Fidel @holafidel
Heather Rae @heather_rae22
Heidi Ewing @HeidiLoki
Jenny Deller @FutureWeather
Julia Pott @juliapott
Lauren Wolkstein @laurenwolkstein
Laurie Collyer @lauriecollyer
Leah Meyerhoff @leahmeyerhoff
Liz Nord @lizfilm
Megan Griffiths @thecinechick
Margarita Jimeno @majimafia
Nancy Schwartzman @fancynancynyc
Paola Mendoza @paolamendoza
Penny Lane @OurNixon
Shaz Bennett @shazbennett
Sian Heder @sianheder
Sophia Takal @sophiathecolest
Stacie Passon @StaciePasson
Tia Lessin @citizenkochfilm

Hannah

and me! @holafidel

Janelle Ryan

Issa Rae, writer/director/producer of "Awkward Black Girl"
https://twitter.com/IssaRae

lesly hamilton

…ignore my list , indeed the five great directors mentionned are not registered on Twitter
L.H

@AudreyEwell

Well since I'm dying to see her new film, I have to add Catherine Breillat
@BreillatCathrin, as well as my previously unmentioned fellow directors Eliza Hittman @ElizaHittman, Kat Candler @katcandler, Margarita Jimeno @majimafia and new director Shaz Bennett @shazbennett. And fellow female producers Laura Wagner @LauraCWagner, Mynette Louie @mynette, Amy Lo @amy_lo, Amanda Marshall @agmarshall plus writer/producer Karen Walton @inkcanada… and these are just a handful I personally know, off the top of my head. We're very much there.

Lesly Hamilton

Lynn Ramsey
Andrea Arnold
Claire denis
Athina Rachel Tsangari
Margarete Von Trotta

Julia Ransom

@lilymariye

Paula Bernstein

Again, thanks for all of your suggestions. We'll be updating the list soon!

thedirectorlist

Please stop perpetuating the myth that women directors aren't present. There are a lot of women directors on Twitter. Below are just a few with current/recent projects. More here: https://twitter.com/TheDirectorList/women-directors/members

Jill Soloway @Jillwaysolo
@LakeBell
@martacunningha9
@Nina_Davenport
@AnnemarieJacir
@CallieKhouri
@bstepansky
@IamDeepaMehta
‏ @brenda_chapman
@NadineLabaki
@sholalynch
@StaciePasson
@JenSiebelNewsom
@HaifaaMansour
@AmmaAsante
@MiraPagliNair
Yoruba Richen ‏ @redrubes14
Lesli Linka Glatter ‏ @LeslilinkaG
@LoreneScafaria
@MsAllisonAnders
@HeidiLoki
@thatjenlynch
@lizwgarcia
@GurinderC
@anniesundberg
@emcmillion
@judithhelfand
@daynahanson
@lisabiagiotti
@jillmorley
Hanelle Culpepper ‏ @Hillview798
@CherienDabis
@sallyelhosaini
Lexi Alexander ‏ @Lexialex
@lilymariye
eva orner ‏ @evaorner
@RobinsonAngela
@onditimoner
Christina Beck @xtinabeck
Gina PrinceBythewood ‏ @GPBmadeit

Lesly Hamilton

Andrea Arnold UK
Lynn Ramsey UK
Claire Denis FR
Athina Rachel Tsangari GR

Al

Jennifer Elster – @jenniferelster

magoshaj

Nia Vardalos!

Jonathan Eagan

INGRID VENINGER!

Jacob

Brit Marling – @britmarling

jodib

The Soska twins for sure!

Paula Bernstein

Great idea, Francine, but most of those women doesn't have Twitter feeds!

Francine

What about the really amazing women filmmakers like: Jane Campion, Agnieszka Holland, Lea Pool, Patricia Rozema, Margarete Von Trotta, Louise Archambault, Lisa Choledenko to name just a few.

Noah

Deepa Mehta @IamDeepaMehta

Paula Bernstein

Thanks for all of the suggestions! Clearly, we'll have to update the list soon. Keep 'em coming!

Bruce

Jennifer Lee, writer/co-director of Disney's Frozen.

@alittlejelee

Kira

I would highly recommend Diablo Cody @diablocody

Vanessa

I'm surprised Jane Espenson wasn't on this list: https://twitter.com/JaneEspenson

Down to earth, hilarious, and extremely personable as far as twitter goes.

j

Victoria Mahoney. https://twitter.com/VictoriaMahoney

Some of the coolest, most diverse, down-to-earth content you'll see from any filmmaker, male or female.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *