100 Filmmakers to Follow on Twitter

100 Filmmakers to Follow on Twitter

We recently compiled a list of 40 Female Filmmakers to
follow on Twitter and asked for suggestions of others to add. The response was overwhelming, so we’ve expanded the list and opened it up to all filmmakers regardless of gender.

Note that
this is not a comprehensive list, nor is it ranked (it’s in alphabetical order). In some
cases, the filmmakers listed below are also be actresses and/or writers and TV producers,
but they have all directed and/or produced films.  You won’t find screenwriters, editors or DPs (we’ll get to those lists another time). Instead, you’ll find documentarians and true indie filmmakers on the list as well as mainstream Hollywood directors.

The only thing they all have in common is that they all have active Twitter presences. We have created a master list so you can follow everyone here (and we’re adding filmmakers to that list too, so chime in with suggestions).

Haifaa Al Mansour @HaifaaMansour

Judd Apatow @Judd Apatow

Allison Anders @MsAllisonAnders

Asia Argento @AsiaArgento

Darren Aronofsky @DarrenAronofsky

Katie Aselton @duplaselton

Miranda Bailey @mirandambailey

Bob Balaban @BobBalaban

Lake Bell @lakebell

Joe Berlinger @joeberlinger

Brad Bird @BradBirdA113

Philip Bloom @PhilipBloom

Craig Brewer @MyBrewTube

Albert Brooks @AlbertBrooks

James L. Brooks @canyonjim

Joe Carnahan @carnojoe

John Carpenter @TheHorrorMaster

Gurinder Chadha @GurinderC

Diablo Cody @diablocody

Roger Corman @RogerCorman

Cherien Dabis @CherienDabis

Joe Dante @joe_dante

Lydia Dean Pilcher @queendean

Illeana Douglas @Illeanarama

Lena Dunham @LenaDunham

Jay Duplass @jayduplass

Mark Duplass @MarkDuplass

Ava DuVernay @AVAETC

Sally El Hosaini @sallyelhosaini

Megan Ellison @meganeellison

Cassian Elwes @cassianelwes

Peter and Bobby Farrelly @farrellybros

James Franco @JamesFrancoTV

Liz Garcia @lizwgarcia 

Joseph Gordon-Levitt @hitRECordJoe

Megan Griffiths @thecinechick

James Gunn @JamesGunn

Paul Haggis @Paul_Haggis

Catherine Hardwicke @C_Hardwicke

Judith Helfand @judithhelfand

Ted Hope @tedhope

Ron Howard @RealRonHoward

Gale Anne Hurd @GunnerGale

Gary Hustwit @gary_hustwit

Rian Johnson @rianjohnson

Miranda July @Miranda_July

Lloyd Kaufman @lloydkaufman

Zoe Kazan @zoeinthecities

Farah Khan @TheFarahKhan

Callie Khouri @CallieKhouri

Ryan Koo @ryanbkoo

Brian Koppelman @briankoppelman

Barbara Kopple @barbarakopple

Nadine Labaki @NadineLabaki

BruceLaBruce @BruceLaBruce

Penny Lane @lennypane

Spike Lee @SpikeLee

Mynette Louie @mynette

Victoria Mahoney @VictoriaMahoney

Brit Marling @britmarling

Christopher McQuarrie @chrismcquarrie

Deepa Mehta @iamdeepamehta

Mira Nair @MiraPagliNair 

Frank Marshall @LeDoctor

Paola Mendoza @paolamendoza

Michael Moore @MMFlint

Errol Morris @errolmorris

Greg Mottola @gregmottola

Lynda Obst @lyndaobst

Pratibha Parmar @kalifilms

Sarah Polley @SarahEPolley

Angela Robinson @robinsonangela

Robert Rodriguez @Rodriguez

Seth Rogen @Sethrogen

Mark Romanek @markromanek

Jane Rosenthal @JaneTribeca

Eli Roth @eliroth

Ira Sachs @irasachs

Elle Schneider @elleschneider

John Sayles @john_sayles 

Nancy Schwartzman @fancynancynyc

Andrei Severny @AndreiSeverny

Lynn Shelton@lynnsheltonfilm

Tiffany Shlain @Tiffanyshlain

Jason Silva @JasonSilva

Bryan Singer @BryanSinger

Kevin Smith @ThatKevinSmith

Jill Soloway @jillwaysolo

Morgan Spurlock @MorganSpurlock

Whit Stillman @WhitStillman

Oliver Stone @TheOliverStone

Joe Swanberg @joe_swanberg

Ondi Timoner @onditimoner

Jocelyn Towne @jocelyntowne

Christine Vachon @kvpi

Jordan Vogt-Roberts @VogtRoberts

David Wain @davidwain

Lucy Walker@LucyWalkerFilm

James Wan @creepypuppet

Edgar Wright @EdgarWright

This Article is related to: Filmmaker Toolkit and tagged , , ,


Comments

Jen Vargas

Two notable filmmakers are missing: @StevenShea (Director, Abyssmal Entertainment, 2:22) and (humbly) @JenVargas (Producer, Indie Cinema Showcase, Women in Film Florida Board, Film Florida, etc al). I’ve been on Twitter & other social media advocating for indie filmmakers longer than most on this list ;-)

R:

No David Lynch is a bit of an oversight.

Sean Finnegan

How I didn't make this list I'll never know.

welcome

This is an underwhelming article. What is wrong with indiewire exactly? If anything we should follow Jocelyn Berman's twitter as she has offered the only intelligent entry on this entire site in the last three days.

Armak

I'm @Armakk… and my aggregated Lists of helmers, scripters, producers, financiers, distributors, film festivals, etc might be of interest. All of the above and below and more.

Filmmy

Yes… also follow @timvandesteeg

Rob

Ha I just looked at someone on your list they've tweeted like 50 times ever. Was this just like the first 100 people you could think of? Doesn't seem like you really did the work.
Not enough DuPlass family either. Surely they have a cousin who tweets.

Sam Longoria

Please include Sam Longoria.
@sam_longoria
http://twitter.com/sam_longoria

Sam worked on your favorite Hollywood movies,
and is making his movies now.

jason

With a few obvious exceptions this list is kind of a fail

MichaelbBarnathan

@MBarnathan

Jocelyn Berman

Too bad Stanley Kubrick, John Ford and Bergman aren't around to twitter all their thoughts to us on a minute to minute basis. Oh, wait. We have their work for this. That's why they made films. The sandwich board self-promoting era we currently occupy is sad and pathetic.

@jenvargas

I'm not on this list and I'm much more active than most of these people? I'm a filmmaker AND I produce a tv show about filmmaking in Florida (@ICSTVSHOW)…

Shelly

Some of the people on this list barely have a twitter presence at all. Or just use it to boringly self promote. Can we have a list of film people who are interesing on twitter specifically?

Paula Bernstein

Thanks so much, Judy. We are adding filmmakers to our Twitter list, which you can follow here: https://twitter.com/indiewire/lists/filmmakers
We'll be sure to add your recommendations.

Judy Plapinger

I think it's an amazing list, and I follow many of them already, but here are 50 more of the most exciting, interesting, wonderful indie/doc filmmakers working today:
1. Albert Maysles @AlbertMaysles,
2. AJ Schnack @ajschnack (@CaucusDoc, @LieToStrangers, Convention, Kurt Cobain About a Son, and Founding Director of @cinemaeyehonors.),
3. Rob Epstein @Epstein_Rob (Howl, Lovelace, Time of Harvey Milk,
4. marta cunningham @martacunningha9 (Valentine Road),
5. Riley Hooper @RileyMakesDocs, Josh Lunden @ExistentialWank,
6. Kelcey Edwards @kelceyedwards,
7. Rachel Grady @RachelLoki (Detropia),
8. Heidi Ewing @HeidiLoki (Detropia),
9. Roger Ross Williams @RogerRossWill (God Loves Uganda, Music for Prudence),
10. David Lowery @davidlowery (Pit Stop, Ain't Them Bodies Saints),
11. trevawurmfeld @trevawurmfeld (Shepard and Dark),
12. Kate McLean @katedotmclean,
13. Yen Tan @PitStopTheMovie,
14. Samantha Housman @SamanthaHousman,
15. Patrick Creadon @PatrickCreadon (Wordplay, IOUSA),
16. sara bernstein @sarabdocs (HBO Docs),
17. Francesca Gregorini @francescagreg (Truth About Emanuel, Tanner Hall),
18. Jeffrey Friedman @jeffriedman (Lovelace, HOWL, Celluloid Closet),
19. Anne Lundgren @jomafilms (Redwood Highway, Calvin Marshall),
20. Marshall Curry @marshallcurry (Street Fight, Racing Dreams, If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front, Mistaken for Strangers),
21. Theo Rigby ‏@theofilms (Immigrant Nation, Sin Pais),
22. Eddie Schmidt @Eddie_Schmidt,
23. Gary Lundgren @GaryLundgren (Redwood Highway, Calvin Marshall),
24. Robert Greene @prewarcinema,
25. Dawn Porter @dawnporterm (Gideon's Army),
26. Eva Weber @evaoddgirlout,
27. Jed Rothstein @boerumhillfilm (Before the Spring, After the Fall and Killing in the Name),
28. Ben Nabors @bennabors (William and the Windmill, Palimpset),
29. Dan Mirvish @DanMirvish (Between Us),
30. Chris Shellen @shellenout (Marwencol),
31. Christoph Baaden @CBaaden (Hood to Coast),
32. Rei Green @reimarcusgreen (Reinaldo Marcus Green-Gun Hill Road),
33. David Wilson @davidkinofist (We Always Lie to Strangers, Big Birding Day),
34. Alex Gibney @alexgibneyfilm,
35. Nathan Truesdell @NathanTruesdell (Caucus, Convention),
36. Adam Roffman @adamroffman (Plimpton! Starring George Plimpton as Himself),
37. Ben Kempas @kempas (Upstream Battle),
38. Elliot Kotek @ElliotKotek (filmmaker, journalist),
39. Mike & Tim Rauch @RauchBros (animators),
40. rossbros @rossbros (Bill and Turner Ross: 45365, Tchoupitoulas),
41. Jody Arlingtonaa1 @jodyarlington (not strictly a filmmaker, but you should follow her),
42. Susan Saladoff @SusanSaladoff (Hot Coffee),
43. RodantiBrosFilms @RodantiBros,
44. Tom Donahue @Donahuefilm (Casting By),
45. Robert Greenwald @robertgreenwald (Brave New Films),
46. RJ Cutler @rjcutler (The World According to Dick Cheney),
47. Jason Sussberg @friendofdurutti,
48. After Tiller @aftertiller (Martha Shane, Lana Wilson),
49. Detroit Unleaded @DetroitUnleaded (Rola Nashef Director)
50. DA Pennebarker and Chris Hegedus Pennebaker Hegedus @PHFilms

Paula Bernstein

Thanks for the good suggestion! We'll remember him for our next list…

film fan

Don't forget Edward Buns- @edward_burns one of the only directors I've seen to really engage with his fans and share info/tips!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *