You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Robin Roberts and Michael Strahan to Host 90-Minute Pre-Oscars Special

Robin Roberts and Michael Strahan to Host 90-Minute Pre-Oscars Special

No “diversity problems” during the Oscars pre-show this year I suppose…

ABC and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that its 90-minute special, “Oscars Opening Ceremony: Live From the Red Carpet,” the opening event and lead-in to the live telecast of the 88th Oscars, will be hosted by “Good Morning America” Anchor Robin Roberts and “LIVE with Kelly and Michael” Co-Host and “GMA” Co-Host Michael Strahan.

The pre-Oscar special begins at 7:00 p.m. EST/4:00 p.m. PST on ABC, and is the only official Oscar red-carpet event. Additionally, from 7:30-8:30 p.m. EST, ABC will be the only telecast broadcasting live and exclusively from the red carpet.

Roberts and Strahan will be joined by “Good Morning America” Co-Anchor Lara Spencer, “GMA” News Anchor Amy Robach, along with special contributors Jess Cagle, editorial director of PEOPLE and Entertainment Weekly, and Yahoo style editor in chief and “FABLife” Co-Host Joe Zee.

This star-studded special features interviews with the nominees, presenters and performers arriving on the red carpet, plus gives viewers an insiders’ view of all the pre-show excitement.

For the second-consecutive year, Oscar show producers and the Academy tapped ABC’s Lincoln Square Productions team to produce the red-carpet show. It will be executive-produced by John R. Green and directed by Jeff Winn.

The 88th Oscars will be held this Sunday, February 28, 2016 at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood, hosted by Chris Rock, and will be televised live on ABC at 8:30 p.m. EST/5:30 p.m. PST.

The Oscars, executive-produced by David Hill and Reggie Hudlin, will be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

This Article is related to: Television and tagged