You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

BAMcinématek to Honor Chantal Akerman With Retrospective and ‘No Home Movie’ Release

BAMcinématek to Honor Chantal Akerman With Retrospective and 'No Home Movie' Release

BAMcinématek will pay tribute to the late Belgian filmmaker Chantal Akerman by screening one of the most comprehensive retrospectives of her work the U.S. has ever seen. Akerman, who passed away last October, will be the subject of "Images Between Images," starting Friday, April 1 and running through Sunday, May 1. In addition to the month-long tribute, BAM will host the premiere theatrical release of the director’s final film, "No Home Movie" during the first two weeks of April.

READ MORE: Phillip Lopate On Why Chantal Akerman Mattered

"No Home Movie" is a portrait of Akerman’s relationship with her mother, Natalia, a Holocaust survivor and familiar presence in many of Akerman’s films. The film fixates on Natalia’s world inside her Brussels apartment, with only glimpses of the hustle and bustle just outside her window. In the apartment, time all but stands still. Akerman said in her own words that ‘No Home Movie’ is "a film of love, a film about loss, sometimes funny, sometimes terrible." Other Akerman films that will screen during the retrospective include "La Captive" (2000), based on Proust’s "La Prisonnière," and her second-to-last film "Almayer’s Folly" (2011).

Check out the schedule below or visit the BAM website for more information. Information provided by BAM.

Fri, Apr 1
2, 4:30, 7, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"

Sat, Apr 2
7, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
Sun, Apr 3
2, 4:30, 7, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
Mon, Apr 4
4:30, 7, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
Tue, Apr 5
4:30, 7, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
Wed, Apr 6
4:30pm: "No Home Movie"
Thu, Apr 7
4:30, 7, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
Fri, Apr 8
2:30, 7:30pm: "Hotel Monterey" + "La Chambre"
4:30, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
Sat, Apr 9
2, 7pm: "Je Tu Il Elle" + "Saute ma ville"
4:30, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
Sun, Apr 10
4:30, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
7pm: "Je Tu Il Elle" + "Saute ma ville"
Mon, Apr 11
4:30, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
7pm: "The Man with the Suitcase" + "Le déménagement"
Tue, Apr 12
4:30, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
7pm: "Tomorrow We Move"
Wed, Apr 13
4:30, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
7:30pm: "Toute une nuit"
Thu, Apr 14
4:30, 7, 9:30pm: "No Home Movie"
Fri, Apr 15
7:15, 9:30pm: "Night and Day"
Sat, Apr 16
7, 9pm: "News from Home"
Sun, Apr 17
2, 6:45pm: "The Meetings of Anna"
4:30, 9:15pm: "Golden Eighties"
Mon, Apr 18
7pm: "A Couch in New York"
9:30pm: "Chantal Akerman by Chantal Akerman" + "J’ai Faim J’ai Froid"
Tue, Apr 19
7pm: "Dis-moi" + "Le 15/8"
9pm: "Letters Home"
Wed, Apr 20
7, 9:15pm: "Histoires d’Amerique"
Mon, Apr 25
7:30, 9:15pm: "South (Sud)"
Tue, Apr 26
7, 9:15pm: "From The Other Side"
Wed, Apr 27
7:30pm: "Down There"
Thu, Apr 28
7pm: "One Day Pina Asked" + "Two films with Sonia Wieder-Atherton"
Fri, Apr 29
7, 9:30pm: "La Captive"
Sun, May 1
2, 7pm: "From the East (D’Est)"
4:15, 9:15pm: "Almayer’s Folly"

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *