Back to IndieWire

Tribeca Film Festival Announces ‘Dean,’ ‘Junction 48’ and Other Award-Winners

Tribeca Film Festival Announces 'Dean,' 'Junction 48' and Other Award-Winners

The 15th annual Tribeca Film Festival has announced its winners, with top honors going to “Dean,” “Junction 48” and “Do Not Resist.” Cash prizes totaling $155,000 were given in the following categories: US Narrative, International Narrative, World Documentary, the Albert Maysles New Documentary Director and the Nora Ephron Prize, among others. The winners were chosen from a field of 102 features and 74 shorts.

READ MORE: The 2016 Indiewire Tribeca Bible: Every Review, Interview and News Item Posted During the Festival

Writer/director Demetri Martin’s “Dean” took home the Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature, with the jury commenting that the film “manages the near impossible task of breathing new life into a well-worn genre, balancing humor and pathos with an incredibly deft touch, and offering a unique perspective on the way we process loss.” Anne Carey, James Le Gros, Chris Nashawaty, Mya Taylor and Jennifer Westfeldt served as jurors for the Narrative Competition.

“This award goes to a phenomenal, stand-out, powerful, thoughtful movie,” said the jury of “Junction 48,” which won the Best International Narrative Feature. The august body was composed of Hany Abu-Assad, Jean Reno, Lydia Dean Pilcher, Sam Taylor-Johnson and Danny Glover.

Laura Poitras, Douglas Tirola and Roger Ross Williams headed the World Documentary jury, remarking of Best Documentary Feature winner “Do Not Resist” that it “shines a light on the frightening story of the militarization of the police. In an impactful way the director uses his amazing access to look at power and force from the inside.”

Full list of winners:

The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature: “Dean”

Best Actor in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film: Dominic Rains, “The Fixer”

Best Actress in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film: Mackenzie Davis, “Always Shine”

Best Cinematography in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film: Michael Ragen, “Kicks”

Best Screenplay in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film: “Women Who Kill”

Best International Narrative Feature: “Junction 48”

Best Actor in an International Narrative Feature Film: Alan Sabbagh, “The Tenth Man”

Best Actress in an International Narrative Feature Film: Radhika Apte, “Clean Shaven”

Best Cinematography in an International Narrative Feature Film: Kjell Vassdal, “El Clasico”

Best Screenplay in an International Narrative Feature Film: “Perfect Strangers”

Best Documentary Feature: “Do Not Resist”

Best Documentary Cinematography: Jarred Alterman, “Contemporary Color”

Best Documentary Editing: Bill Ross, “Contemporary Color”

Best New Narrative Director: Priscilla Anany, “Children of the Mountain”

Albert Maysles New Documentary Director Award: David Feige, “Untouchable”

Best Narrative Short: “Hold On (Houvast)”

Best Documentary Short: “Extremis”

Student Visionary Award: “Ping Pong Coach (乒乓)”

Storyscapes Award: “Notes on Blindness: Into Darkness”

The Nora Ephron Prize: Rachel Tunnard, “Adult Life Skills”

Tribeca X Award: “Hearing Colors”

READ MORE: Robert De Niro’s Anti-Vaccine Controversy: When Did Tribeca Screw Up?

Audience Award-winners will be announced on April 23. Screenings of the award-winning films will take place on April 24, the last day of the festival.

For more from Tribeca, watch the “Southwest of Salem” trailer:

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Festivals newsletter here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,