You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Awards Roundup: Academy Names Nicholl Fellows, Ken Burns Honored by New York Historical Society and More

Keep up with the glitzy film awards world with our weekly Awards Roundup column.

Keep up with the glitzy awards world with our weekly Awards Roundup column.

– Four individuals and one writing team have been selected as winners of the 2016 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition. The Academy Nicholl Fellowships Committee announced the winners via Livestream on Thursday, September 29. Each fellow receives a $35,000 prize, the first installment of which will be distributed at the Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting Awards Presentation and Live Read on Thursday, November 3, at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

The 2016 winners are Michele Atkins (“Talking About the Sky”), Spencer Harvey and Lloyd Harvey (“Photo Booth”), Geeta Malik, (“Dinner with Friends”), Elizabeth Oyebode (“Tween the Ropes”) and Justin Piasecki (“Death of an Ortolan”).

READ MORE: Shailene Woodley to Receive Environmentalist Award, Ridley Scott Named American Cinematheque Award Recipient and More

Ken Burns and Ric Burns were honored with the 2016 History Makers Award at the New-York Historical Society’s annual History Makers Gala on Monday, September 26.

“Through their remarkable body of work, they have brought history to life for millions of Americans, allowing us to discover essential truths about the founding of our nation and our city while helping us remember the struggles and triumphs that have taken place along the way,” Louise Mirrer, New-York Historical Society President and CEO, said in a statement. The 2016 gala raised nearly $2.5 million, to benefit NYHS programs including major Museum exhibitions and its historical education programs for more than 200,000 New York City public school students.

Past recipients of the History Maker Award include Ron Chernow and Lin-Manuel Miranda (2015), Hillary Clinton (2014), David Petraeus (2013), Wynton Marsalis (2012) and Henry Kissinger (2011).

Ric Burns and Ken Burns

Ric Burns and Ken Burns

The New York Historical Society

– The 2017 Tony Awards will be broadcast live from New York City on Sunday, June 11, 2017 at 8PM on CBS. The Tony Awards has honored theater professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway since 1947. Nominations for the 2017 Tony Awards will be announced on Tuesday, May 2.

READ MORE: Toronto: ‘La La Land’ Wins TIFF’s People’s Choice Award; Plus All Other Award Winners Announced

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Festivals newsletter here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,