Back to IndieWire

National Film Registry: 25 New Films Added, Including ‘Rushmore’ and ‘The Decline of Western Civilization’

The total number of films in the Library of Congress now stands at 700.



Touchstone Pictures

25 movies have been added to the National Film Registry, bringing the total number of cinematic works officially recognized by the Library of Congress to 700. Among the new additions are “The Birds,” “The Lion King,” “Point Blank” and “Rushmore” — the first of Wes Anderson’s films to be included.

In order to be so honored, a film must be at least 10 years old and deemed “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant” by the National Film Preservation Board. Full list below.

READ MORE: ‘Ghostbusters,’ ‘L.A. Confidential,’ ‘Shawshank Redemption,’ ‘Top Gun’ & More Enter The National Film Registry

“The Atomic Cafe” (1982)

“Ball of Fire” (1941)

“The Beau Brummels” (1928)

“The Birds” (1963)

“Blackboard Jungle” (1955)

“The Breakfast Club” (1985)

The Decline of Western Civilization” (1981)

“East of Eden” (1955)

“Funny Girl” (1968)

“Life of an American Fireman” (1903)

“The Lion King” (1994)

“Lost Horizon” (1937)

“Musketeers of Pig Alley” (1912)

READ MORE: ‘Symbiopsychotaxiplasm,’ ‘Portrait of Jason,’ ‘Imitation of Life’ Among New Additions to National Film Registry

“Paris Is Burning” (1990)

“Point Blank” (1967)

“The Princess Bride” (1987)

“Putney Swope” (1969)

“Rushmore” (1998)

Solomon Sir Jones films (1924-28)
“Steamboat Bill, Jr.” (1928)

“Suzanne, Suzanne” (1982)

“Thelma & Louise” (1991)

“20,000 Leagues Under the Sea” (1916)

“A Walk in the Sun” (1945)

Who Framed Roger Rabbit” (1988)

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film and tagged , ,