You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Emmy Predictions 2017: Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series

Updated — Old favorites look to fend off a flurry of new contenders as Sterling K. Brown and Ian McShane aim to shake up the race.

American Gods Season 1 2017 Ian McShane

© 2017 Starz Entertainment, LLC

Last Year’s Winner: Rami Malek, “Mr. Robot”
Still Eligible: Yes.
Hot Streak: There has not been a repeat winner in this category since Bryan Cranston won three times in a row between 2008-2010 (for “Breaking Bad”).
Fun Fact: Michael C. Hall, Hugh Laurie, and Martin Sheen have all been nominated six times in this category and never won, the most nominations ever without a win. They all used to trail Jon Hamm, who had seven nominations without a win until he won for “Mad Men” on his eighth nod. (Hall and Laurie have never won an Emmy in any categories, while Sheen won for Guest Actor on “Murphy Brown” in 1994.)

Always a tight race, the Lead Actor in a Drama category will see only one definite opening based on last year’s nominees. “Bloodline” didn’t release a new season in time to compete, meaning Kyle Chandler won’t be snagging his third Emmy nomination for the Netflix series this year. Everyone else, however, is eligible: Rami Malek will try to become the first back-to-back winner in the category since Bryan Cranston; Bob Odenkirk is looking for his third nod in as many seasons for “Better Call Saul”; Matthew Rhys finally broke in last year and has no plans to vacate his seat before “The Americans” wraps; Kevin Spacey is still Emmy-less, despite earning a nomination for each season of “House of Cards” thus far. And Liev Schreiber is looking to make it into the category three years in a row for “Ray Donovan.”

READ MORE: The Many Deaths of Justin Theroux: Why ‘The Leftovers’ Is The Only Show on TV That Knows How To Kill Its Characters

“This Is Us” has decided to push both Sterling K. Brown and Milo Ventimiglia in the lead actor category, opening up the distinct possibility they both earn nods. It would be the first time one show has earned multiple nominations in this category since Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson were up for “True Detective.” (It’s also worth noting they both lost that year.) Similarly, Ian McShane and Ricky Whittle will compete against each other in “American Gods.”

Other new faces of definite leading man status include Billy Bob Thornton, who took home the Golden Globe earlier this year for “Goliath,” Dan Stevens in Noah Hawley’s wild FX drama, “Legion,” and Tom Hardy in “Taboo.” And then there’s the wannabe Matthew Rhyses of the world — repeatedly snubbed, but holding out hope this is their year. Justin Theroux leads the pack for “The Leftovers” in a criminally unacknowledged performance. Right there with him is Aden Young in “Rectify,” and 2017 marks his last chance to be nominated for the role he’s dominated for four seasons.

READ MORE: Jeffrey Donovan and KaDee Strickland on Exploring the Dark Underworld of Psychics in ‘Shut Eye’

Other hopefuls include Aaron Paul in “The Path,” Paul Giamatti in “Billions,” Dominic West in “The Affair,” and Rupert Friend in “Homeland,” who’s looking for his first nod since being nominated as a Guest Actor in 2013. They won’t have to worry about Neil Patrick Harris crashing the party, given the TV Academy’s ruling that his Netflix series, “A Series of Unfortunate Events,” is a comedy, not a drama.

Below are IndieWire TV Critic Ben Travers’ predictions for Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series (in alphabetical order), which will be updated throughout the awards season. Make sure to keep checking IndieWire for all the latest buzz and highlights from the 2017 race, and read the rest of the predictions in all categories, as well.

Predicted Nominees:

  1. Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us”
  2. Rami Malek, “Mr. Robot”
  3. Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul”
  4. Matthew Rhys, “The Americans”
  5. Kevin Spacey, “House of Cards”
  6. Justin Theroux, “The Leftovers”

Spoilers: Kyle Chandler, “Bloodline”; Ian McShane, “American Gods”; Liev Schreiber, “Ray Donovan”; Dan Stevens, “Legion”

In a Perfect World: Rupert Friend, “Homeland”; Aaron Paul, “The Path”‘; Aden Young, “Rectify”

Stay on top of the latest film news! Sign up for our e-mail newsletter here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *