Back to IndieWire

‘Good Omens’: Photos Reveal Michael McKean’s Casting and David Tennant’s New Hair Color

Fans of Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett's cult novel can start getting excited now (if they weren't already).

Outside of UK subscription dealsMandatory Credit: Photo by Dan Wooller/REX/Shutterstock (8557082s)David Tennant (Don Juan)'Don Juan in Soho' play, After Party, London, UK - 28 Mar 2017

Dan Wooller/REX/Shutterstock

The upcoming TV adaptation of “Good Omens” appears to be shaping up, following a table read Thursday — documented via social media by writer/showrunner Neil Gaiman and other members of the cast and crew.

Gaiman’s status as showrunner was confirmed by this photo from the official Terry Pratchett Twitter account (Pratchett passed away in 2015):

And the below blurry photo might be unblurred soon:

But in a subsequent tweet Gaiman revealed who was fuzzed out: “Emerald City” star Adria Arjona, who will play Anathema Device; Nina Sosanya, playing Sister Mary Loquacious; Ned Dennehy, playing the demon Hastur; and Ariyon Bakare as the demon Ligur.

Beyond the official announcements, “Better Call Saul” star Michael McKean also let it slip on Twitter that he’ll be playing the cantankerous Shadwell:

Also present were David Tennant and Michael Sheen, who are set to play the devil Crowley and the angel Aziraphale. Their commitment to the roles is as plain as the hair on their heads, as both actors (pictured with Amazon Studios head of casting Donna Rosenstein) have gone with dye jobs that reflect their respective characters.

Gaiman also shared that he’d brought along a key prop:

The novel “Good Omens,” written by Gaiman and Pratchett, is the basis for the six-part limited series, which will premiere on Amazon Prime in 2019. Douglas Mackinnon directs the comedic apocalypse tale.

This Article is related to: Television and tagged , ,