Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

40 Female Filmmakers to Follow on Twitter: A Crowdsourced List

Photo of Paula Bernstein By Paula Bernstein | Indiewire October 21, 2013 at 10:47AM

We asked for your suggestions for female filmmakers to follow on Twitter. Here's the updated crowdsourced list.
43
Director Jill Soloway's "Transparent" pilot was picked by Amazon Studios.
Director Jill Soloway's "Transparent" pilot was picked by Amazon Studios.

We recently compiled a list of 10 Female Filmmakers to follow on Twitter and asked for suggestions of others to add. So here's an updated list of 40 Female Filmmakers to follow on Twitter (with the newest additions at the top followed by the original list). Once again, this is not a comprehensive list, nor is it ranked. 

In some cases, the filmmakers listed below are also be actresses and/or writers, but they have all directed and/or produced films. We also checked to make sure they all have active Twitter presences. So go ahead and follow these 40 female filmmakers:

1. Stacie Passon @StaciePasson

2. Jill Soloway @jillwaysolo

3. Diablo Cody @diablocody

4. Lake Bell @lakebell

5. Megan Griffiths @thecinechick

6. Deepa Mehta @iamdeepamehta

7. Victoria Mahoney @VictoriaMahoney

8. Mira Nair @MiraPagliNair 

9. Haifaa Al Mansour @HaifaaMansour

10. Brit Marling @britmarling

11. Ondi Timoner @onditimoner

12. Nadine Labaki @NadineLabaki

13. Megan Ellison @meganeellison

14. Cherien Dabis @CherienDabis

15. Catherine Hardwicke @C_Hardwicke

16. Callie Khouri @CallieKhouri

17. Tiffany Shlain @Tiffanyshlain

18. Lynda Obst @lyndaobst

19. Angela Robinson @robinsonangela

20. Liz Garcia @lizwgarcia


21. Christine Vachon @kvpi

22. Asia Argento @AsiaArgento


23. Elle Schneider @elleschneider


24. Sally El Hosaini @sallyelhosaini


25. Miranda Bailey @mirandambailey


26. Lydia Dean Pilcher @queendean


27. Penny Lane @lennypane


28. Nancy Schwartzman @fancynancynyc


29. Paola Mendoza @paolamendoza


30. Barbara Kopple @barbarakopple


31. Gale Anne Hurd @GunnerGale

32. Miranda July @Miranda_July

33. Sarah Polley @SarahPolley

34. Lena Dunham @LenaDunham

35. Jane Rosenthal @JaneTribeca

36. Lucy Walker@LucyWalkerFilm

37. Ava DuVernay @AVAETC

38 Katie Aselton @duplaselton

39. Allison Anders @MsAllisonAnders

40. Lynn Shelton@lynnsheltonfilm

This article is related to: Twitter, Tech, Filmmaker Toolkit: Technology, Women Directors







SnagFilms

Watch Over 10,000 Free Movies!

We the Economy: Supply and Dance, Man!

Why is the law of supply and demand so powerful? In this whimsical tale, our friendly narrator guides bored students Jonathan and Kristin through a microeconomic musical extravaganza.

More