Fifteen documentary films have been selected for the "short list" of titles competing for one of five nominations for the 78th Academy Awards. Eighty-two eligible films were submitted for consideration for the Best Documentary Feature category this year, according to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

On this year's list are:

"After Innocence," directed by Jessica Sanders

"The Boys of Baraka," directed by Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady

"Darwin's Nightmare," directed by Hubert Sauper

"The Devil and Daniel Johnston," directed by Jeff Feuerzeig

"Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room," directed by Alex Gibney

"Favela Rising," directed by Matt Mochary and Jeff Zimbalist

"Mad Hot Ballroom," directed by Marilyn Agrelo

"March of the Penguins," directed by Luc Jacquet

"Murderball," directed by Henry Alex Rubin and Dana Adam Shapiro

"Occupation: Dreamland," directed by Ian Olds and Garrett Scott

"On Native Soil: The Documentary of the 9/11 Commission Report," directed by Linda Ellman

"Rize," directed by David LaChapelle

"Street Fight," directed by Marshall Curry

"39 Pounds of Love," directed by Dani Menkin

"Unknown White Male," directed by Rupert Murray

While fifteen films were selected for consideration this year, twelve were chosen for the Oscar documentary feature "short list" last year, with "Born Into Brothels" ultimately winning the Oscar. The nominations will be announced on Tuesday, January 31, 2006 and the Oscars will be presented on Sunday, March 5, 2006.

Eligible documentaries were screened by the Documentary Branch Screening Committee, made up of members of the branch who serve on a volunteer basis. The above films were chosen after a preliminary round of screenings.