The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the 2005 winners of the Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting. The six winners are Morgan Read-Davidson (Downey, Calif.) for "The Days Between"; Seth Resnik (West Hollywood) and Ron Moskovitz (Los Angeles) for "Fire in a Coal Mine"; Michael D. Zungolo (Philadelphia) for "No Country"; Colleen Cooper De Maio (Los Angeles) for "Pirates of Lesser Providence" and Gian Marco Masoni (Santa Monica) for "Ring of Fire." Beating out nearly 6,000 submissions in this year's competition, the winners will, individually or as a team, receive the first installment of their $30,000 prize money at a November 10 gala. The winners were chosen with the understanding that they will generate a feature-length screenplay in their fellowship year. [M.L. Liu]