Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...
Celebrating 17 Years of Film.Biz.Fans.
by Peter Knegt
November 27, 2012 1:41 PM
  • |

'Silver Linings,' 'Moonrise Kingdom' Lead Spirit Award Nominations

The Weinstein Company

The 28th Annual Film Independent Spirit Award nominations were announced today in Los Angeles, with Wes Anderson's "Moonrise Kingdom" and David O. Russell's "Silver Linings Playbook" leading the pack with five nominations apiece.

Both films were nominated in the best feature category, alongside "Bernie,"  "Keep The Lights On" and "Beasts of the Southern Wild." Full commentary to come (there's lots to discuss).

The Nominees for the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards:
Beasts of the Southern Wild
PRODUCERS: Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey & Josh Penn
PRODUCERS: Liz Glotzer, Richard Linklater, David McFadzean, Dete Meserve, Judd Payne, Celine Rattray, Martin Shafer, Ginger Sledge, Matt Williams
Keep the Lights On
PRODUCERS: Marie Therese Guirgis, Lucas Joaquin, Ira Sachs
Moonrise Kingdom
PRODUCERS: Wes Anderson, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales, Scott Rudin
Silver Linings Playbook
PRODUCERS: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon

"Moonrise Kingdom"

Wes Anderson
Moonrise Kingdom
Julia Loktev
The Loneliest Planet
David O. Russell
Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs
Keep the Lights On
Benh Zeitlin
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola
Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan
Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh
Seven Psychopaths
David O. Russell
Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias
Keep the Lights On
BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)
Fill the Void
DIRECTOR:  Rama Burshtein
PRODUCER:  Assaf Amir
Gimme the Loot
DIRECTOR:  Adam Leon
PRODUCERS:  Dominic Buchanan, Natalie Difford, Jamund Washington
Safety Not Guaranteed
DIRECTOR:  Colin Trevorrow
PRODUCERS:  Derek Connolly, Stephanie Langhoff, Peter Saraf, Colin Trevorrow, Marc Turtletaub
Sound of My Voice
DIRECTOR:  Zal Batmanglij
PRODUCERS:  Brit Marling, Hans Ritter, Shelley Surpin
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
DIRECTOR:  Stephen Chbosky
PRODUCERS:  Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Russell Smith

Continue to next page for the rest of the nominations.


  • jingmei | November 29, 2012 3:13 AMReply

    My, Matthew McConaughey double dominated, one is Magic Mike. Is it Indie Spirit?! Brit Marling is best supporting female not lead female?

  • Kasra | November 27, 2012 4:05 PMReply

    What a great list of nominees in BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM category. Bilge Ceylan is competing with Haneke and Audiard!!! Oh my god! What an excitement! Can't wait to see who will win the award. But I think it will probably Haneke's Amour. Although Ceylan's film is a masterpiece in every sense of the word.

  • Nowhere Man | November 27, 2012 2:38 PMReply

    Dave is exactly right. Chbosky directed 4 corners of nowhere.

  • Josh Slater-Williams | November 27, 2012 2:06 PMReply

    I'd have thought 'Ruby Sparks'' self-sabotaging final scene would have scuppered its screenplay chances.

  • Dave | November 27, 2012 1:47 PMReply

    I don't understand how Perks of Being a Wallflower is a first feature. I remember seeing The Four Corners of Nowhere in a theater back in 1994.