Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

25 Documentary Filmmakers to Follow on Twitter

Photo of Paula Bernstein By Paula Bernstein | Indiewire December 27, 2013 at 10:2AM

Here are the 25 documentary filmmakers you should be following on Twitter.
9
Kathleen Hanna and Sini Anderson in production on "The Punk Singer."

Recently, we've compiled lists of 40 Female Filmmakers to Follow on Twitter and 100 Filmmakers to Follow on Twitter, but we felt it was time to highlight some of our favorite documentary filmmakers on Twitter. It's an eclectic and impressive group responsible for some of our favorite documentaries, including, most recently, "Stories We Tell," "The Armstrong Lie," "Valentine Road," "The Act of Killing" and "The Punk Singer."

Note that this isn't a comprehensive list, but that all of these filmmakers are active on Twitter -- and whether they're promoting their own projects or debating the merits of various documentary techniques, these cinematic rabble-rousers are consistently informative, entertaining and engaging.

[Photo courtesy of the Sundance Institute] Director Marshall Curry

If you're looking for tips about how to crowdfund your film, which festivals are best for documentaries or other insights into the doc world, don't just follow these folks, interact with them.

Feel free to add your favorite documentarians on Twitter in the comments below.

Here are 25 documentary filmmakers to follow on Twitter (in alphabetical order):

Sini Anderson @SiniAnderson

Joe Berlinger @joeberlinger

Doug Block @DougBlock

Billy Corben @BillyCorben

Marta Cunningham @martacunningha9

Marshall Curry @marshallcurry

Heidi Ewing @HeidiLoki

Alex Gibney @AlexGibneyFilm

Robert Greenwald @RobertGreenwald

Gary Hustwit @gary_hustwit

Read More: 10 Tips for Indie Filmmakers on Twitter

Barbara Kopple @barbarakopple

Albert Maysles @AlbertMaysles

Michael Moore @MMFlint

Joshua Oppenheimer @JoshuaOppenheim

Sarah Polley @SarahPolley

Ira Sachs @irasachs

Jeremy Scahill @jeremyscahill

Sarah Polley

AJ Schnack @ajschnack

Tiffany Shlain @tiffanyshlain

Read More: Awards Spotlight with 'Act of Killing' Director Joshua Oppenheimer

Morgan Spurlock @MorganSpurlock

Michele Stephenson @Michele0608

Ondi Timoner @onditimoner

Lucy Walker @LucyWalkerFilm

Alex Winter @alxwinter

Malika Zouhali Worrall @MalikaZW



This article is related to: Twitter, Tech, Documentary, Filmmaker Toolkit: Documentaries, Documentaries