Five finalists, chosen from more than 100 submissions from seven University of California campuses, have been named in the competition for the Fiftieth Anniversary 2005 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards competition, presented by the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation. They are: David Ariniello from UCI for "River Champion", Michael Carnick from UCSD for "Who's Driving Doug", Shanee Edwards from UCLA for "Enchantress of Numbers", Chris Kyle from UCLA for "The Ganders", and Laurel Minter from UCLA for "The Route". The $25,000 first prize, $10,000 second prize, $8,000 third prize, $5,000 and $2,000 honorable mentions will be awarded on Tuesday, November 1, 2005, at the Writer's Guild Theater.