Gravity, Sandra Bullock (skip)

Today, the Academy announced the ten films that will vie for the Special Effects Oscar.  The films will be pared down to the nominees after the visual effects branch gets together to evaluate the effects all at once in a special event in January.  While "The Lone Ranger" and "World War Z" are surprises, one notable absence is "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty."  

Nominations will be announced January 16.

The visual effects shortlist, in alphabetical order:



"The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug"

"Iron Man 3"

"The Lone Ranger"


"Star Trek Into Darkness"

"Thor: The Dark World:

"Warner Bros. and Legendary Pictures Pacific Rim"

"World War Z"