The ten scripts selected as finalists for the 21st annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences are: "Abilene," Michael Raymond, Auckland, New Zealand, and Seattle, Washington; "Armored," James V. Simpson, New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada; "Beatrice Creek," Eric J. Litra, Monroe, Michigan; "The Free Republic of Bobistan," Arthur M. Jolly, Marina del Rey, California; "Mr. Burnout," Eric T. Gravning, Santa Monica, California; "Palau Rain," Stephanie Lord, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; "Peepers," Clark E. Morrow, Olathe, Kansas; "10 Day Contract," Josh D. Schorr, South Pasadena, California; "38 Mercury," Alfred E. Carpenter, Alexandria, Virginia, and Mark A. Matusof, Woodbridge, Virginia; "Tides of Summer," Scott K. Simonsen, Hermosa Beach, California. As many as five writers will receive a $30,000 fellowship. A total of 4,899 scipts were submitted this year and finalists will be judged by an AMPAS committe. [Eugene Hernandez]