Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...
Celebrating 17 Years of Film.Biz.Fans.
by Serena Donadoni
April 4, 2012 2:22 PM
  • |

Ann Arbor Film Festival Celebrates 50 Years of Thinking Outside The Box

The 50th Ann Arbor Film Festival is proud to announce this year's award winning films as chosen by our esteemed jury: Michael Robinson, Kathy Geritz and Peter Rose.

* Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival: “Lack of Evidence (Manque de Preuves)” Hayoun Kwon

* Gus Van Sant Award for Best Experimental Film: “Sounding Glass” Sylvia Schedelbauer

* Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film: “It’s Such a Beautiful Day” Don Hertzfeldt, “Traces” Scott Stark

* Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film: “Palaces of Pity” Daniel Schmidt and Gabriel Abrantes

The Stan Brakhage Film at Wit’s End Award: “Voluptuous Sleep” Betzy Bromberg

Michael Moore Award for Best Documentary Film: “Guañape Sur” János Richter

Award for Best International Film: “Untitled” Neil Beloufa

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film: “Vexed” Telcosystems)

\aut\FILM Award for Best LGBT Film: “The Evil Eyes” Bobby Abate

The Ghostly Award for Best Sound Design: “Remote” Jesse McLean

Kodak/Colorlab Award for Best Cinematography: “Undergrowth” and “Within” Robert Todd

The No Violence Award: “If the War Continues” Jonathan Schwartz

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for Emerging Experimental Video Artist: “Ceibas: The Epilogue – The Well of Representation” Evan Meaney

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film: “Walt Disney’s Taxi Driver” Bryan Boyce, “Shadow Cuts” Martin Arnold, “Pluto Declaration” Travis Wilkerso)

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker: “The Strawberry Tree” Simone Rapisarda Casanova

George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award: “By Foot-Candle Light” Mary Helena Clark

Art & Science Award: “20Hz” Ruth Jarman and Joe Gerhardt aka Semiconductor

The Eileen Maitland Award: “Irma” Charles Fairbanks

Award for Best Music Video: “Go Outside” (Cults) Isaiah Seret

“As Above, So Below” Sarah J. Christman
“Tin Pressed” Dani Leventhal
“Curious Light” Charlotte Pryce
“Landfill 16” Jennifer Reeves
“August Song” Jodie Mack, Emily Kuehn
“A Lax Riddle Unit” Laida Lertxundi
“Quest (Cautare)” Ionuţ Piturescu
“The House (Das Haus)” David Buob
“Envelop by Julianna Barwick” Cam Archer

Vimeo Audience Award: TBA

* Shorts in these categories qualify for Academy Award consideration.



  • Sasha | April 5, 2012 2:37 PMReply

    Point of clarification: I am still super committed to striking and screening 16mm prints, and some of my most favorite work at AAFF this year was in this precious medium: Rob Todd's "Undergrowth," Jodie Mack's "Point De Gaze," Jonathan Schwartz' "If the War Continues," not to mention older works such as Gunvor Nelson's "Schmeerguntz" (possibly my favorite film ever made) and Standish Lawder's "Necrology" - this goes on. As it should!

  • Sasha | April 4, 2012 8:19 PMReply

    Oh my, thanks for mentioning "The Incomplete History of the Travelogue, 1925" - also screening at the Tribeca Film Festival next month. On HD. Which won't catch fire in the gate.

    The "Hope Palmer" mentioned is actually "Hope Tucker," a graduate of the MFA program in Film/Video Production at the University of Iowa (at which I have taught since 2000). Other students and alum included at the 50th AAFF include Jen Proctor, Evan Meaney (Winner of the Award for Best Emerging Experimental Video Artist) Richard Wiebe (Winner in 2011 of the Most Promising Filmmaker Award), Matthew Buckingham, Lyn Eliot AND incoming faculty member, and Award-winner for Best Sound Design, rockin' Chicago artist Jesse McLean!

  • Serena Donadoni | April 4, 2012 9:49 PM

    My apologies to Hope Tucker, whose film was one of my favorites, for the error in the text (although I got it right for the photo caption). Sent info to my editor for a correction. I also loved Evan Meaney's "Ceibas: Epilogue – The Well of Representation," which uses vintage video game iconography for very clever storytelling. And really enjoyed your film, especially "The Great Gatsby" references. Could have written a very long piece just discussing the films and videos I saw, which were only a fraction of what was offered at AAFF this year.