Celebrating 17 Years of Film.Biz.Fans.
by Indiewire
January 11, 2006 4:31 AM
1 Comment
  • |

ASC Picks Five Nominees

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced the five nominees for best feature film cinematography in 2005. Selected this year are Dion Beebe for "Memoirs of a Geisha," Robert Elswit for "Good Night, And Good Luck," Andrew Lesnie for "King Kong," Wally Pfister for "Batman Begins," and Rodrigo Prieto for "Brokeback Mountain." The awards will be presented on February 26th in Los Angeles. [Eugene Hernandez]

You might also like:

1 Comment

  • paganimage | January 12, 2006 7:54 AMReply

    Rodrigo Prieto is an excellent cinematographer with a sensitive eye for detail. His subtle approach on "Brokeback Mountain" demonstrates that he is completely committed to only those strokes that are relevant to the telling of the story, and not simply creating images for his DP reel. To be included among such lush filmic pieces such as "Memoirs of a Geisha" and "Good Night, And Good Luck," also point to the ASC's good judgment and sense of fair play. My hat is off to them.

    Edwin Pagan, President, NALIP-New York