Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

BAMcinématek Presents Month-Long Retrospective on French Director Chris Marker

Photo of Zack Sharf By Zack Sharf | Indiewire July 11, 2014 at 5:32PM

This August, BAMcinématek will screen the iconic films of French director Chris Marker in a special retrospective series chronicling the master cine-essayest.
1
Chris Marker

This August, BAMcinématek will screen the iconic films of French director Chris Marker in a special retrospective series chronicling the master cine-essayest. The event begins on August 15 with the North American theatrical premiere of "Level Five" and will continue through Thursday, August 28. "Five," about a video game programmer who is haunted by her work, is a retro-futuristic essay reflecting on the traumas of World War II and early internet culture. Like most of Marker's work, it is a deeply personal cinematic representation of weighty themes that uses collages of moving images, photography, and text. 

READ MORE: The Sixth Annual BAMcinemaFest Lineup is Chock-Full of American Indies 

The director was notorious for eschewing interviews and photographs throughout his prolific career, so this detailed retrospective should provide some well-informed insight into Marker's filmmaking process. Other classics of his include "A Letter From Siberia," in which narration inflects documentary footage with unexpected notes of irony, and "La Jetee," a heady time travel romance told entirely through still photographs, which became the inspiration for Terry Gilliam's "12 Monkeys."

After premiering in Brooklyn, the brand new restoration of "Level Five" will tour theaters nationwide, including Los Angeles, Seattle, Austin, Boston, and Chicago. 

Full Screening Schedule:

Fri, Aug 15
2, 4:30, 7, 9:30pm: "Level Five"

Sat, Aug 16
2, 7pm: "Far From Vietnam"
4:30, 9:30pm: "Level Five"

Sun, Aug 17
4:30pm: "Le Joli Mai" 
2, 8pm: "Level Five"

Mon, Aug 18
4:30, 9pm: "Level Five"
7pm: "A Letter From Siberia," "Sunday in Peking"

Tue, Aug 19
4:30, 9pm: "Level Five"
7pm: "The Battle of the Ten Million"

Wed, Aug 20
4:30, 9pm: "Level Five" 
7pm: "Be Seeing You," "Class of Struggle," "2084"

Thu, Aug 21
4:30, 7, 9:30pm: "Level Five"

Fri, Aug 22
5, 6:30, 8, 9:30pm: "La Jetée," "Statues Also Die"

Sat, Aug 23
2, 4:30, 7, 9:30pm: "Sans Soleil"

Sun, Aug 24
2, 8:30pm: "The Last Bolshevik"
4:30pm: "A Grin Without a Cat"

Mon, Aug 25
7:30pm: "Description of a Struggle," "Valparaíso" 
9:15pm: "One day in the Life of Andrei Aresenevich," "The Train Rolls On"

Tue, Aug 26
7:30, 9:15pm: "Prime Time in the Camps," "The Sixth Side of the Pentagon," "The Embassy"

Wed, Aug 27
7:30pm: "Bestiary," "Les homes de la baleen," "Three Cheers for the Whale"
9pm: "The Koumiko Mystery," "Matta"

Thu, Aug 28
7, 9:15pm: "Remembrance of Things to Come," "If I Had Four Dromedaries"


Visit BAMcinématek in the coming weeks for more information

This article is related to: Chris Marker, La Jetee, BAMcinematek, Retrospective, Screenings