Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...
Celebrating 17 Years of Film.Biz.Fans.
by Peter Knegt
January 30, 2011 7:30 AM
  • |

"King's Speech"'s Tom Hooper Takes DGA Award

The Directors Guild of America have announced their annual awards, with "The King's Speech"'s Tom Hooper surprising as the big winner over expected winner David Fincher.

The DGA Award traditionally been a near perfect barometer for the Best Director Academy Award. Only six times since the DGA Award's inception has the DGA Award winner not won the Academy Award; in 1968 (Carol Reed won the Oscar for directing Oliver!); 1972 (Bob Fosse won the Oscar for directing Cabaret); 1985 (Sydney Pollack won the Oscar for directing Out of Africa); 1995 (Mel Gibson won for directing Braveheart); 2000 (Steven Soderbergh won the Oscar for directing Traffic); and 2002 (Roman Polanski won the Oscar for directing The Pianist).

The complete list of winners, including the documentary winner, is below:

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film
Tom Hooper, The King's Speech

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary
Charles Ferguson, Inside Job


  • Brian | January 30, 2011 5:49 AMReply

    It's almost 1:00 when do they announce the winners already?

  • Brian | January 30, 2011 5:48 AMReply

    Well, when are the winners announced?

  • David Fox | January 30, 2011 5:38 AMReply

    It's well past midnight in the East. Why aren't the winners known?

  • Kanani | January 30, 2011 5:22 AMReply

    Go here to the Hollywood Reporter:

  • Kanani | January 30, 2011 5:21 AMReply

    Is ANYONE live blogging this event?

  • Earl | January 30, 2011 5:09 AMReply

    It is 11:08 Central Standard Time. Where are the results?

  • MJS | January 30, 2011 4:25 AMReply

    Sometimes there is justice in handing out awards to the most deserving person!