Ava DuVernay
Ava DuVernay

Film Independent, the non-profit organization that produces the Film Independent Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, has announced two keynote speakers for the upcoming 2013 Film Independent Forum. Ted Sarandos, Chief Executive Officer of Netflix, will deliver the Executive Keynote address on Oct. 26 and writer/director Ava DuVernay ("Middle of Nowhere") will deliver the Filmmaker Keynote address on Oct. 27.

"No other executive in the industry today embodies the content revolution we are currently experiencing better than Ted Sarandos," 
said Film Independent Director of Education, Maria Bozzi. "He has spearheaded the creation of quality original content and game-changing ways of delivering it, revolutionizing the way content is being consumed."

Ted Sarandos
Ted Sarandos
"I have had a long relationship with Film Independent and look forward to talking through the possibilities and the risks ahead for filmmakers in this new media age," Sarandos added.

Filmmaker DuVernay has credited Film Independent Forum with fostering a supportive atmosphere for budding filmmakers where those possibilities can flourish. 

"Through the Forum, Film Independent carves out a very special time and a very special place for filmmakers and film lovers to congregate and learn from one another. I'm thrilled to be a part of such a wonderful gathering. And I look forward to sharing, listening and growing, which always seems to happen when I'm there," DuVernay said.

Bozzi added that DuVernay "represents the fearless artist entrepreneur that can sustain a career in this new age. Not only is she making films that matter, but she is also a marketer and a distributor who has helped many filmmakers reach their audiences. She is truly an inspiration, and I am sure she will generously share her experience. I am thrilled for both of their participation in this year’s Forum."

The 2013 Film Independent Forum, presented by Indiewire, will be held from Oct. 25-27 at the Directors Guild of America in Los Angeles. To kickoff the 9th annual Forum, Focus Features will present "Dallas Buyers Club," starring Matthew McConaughey, Jennifer Garner and Jared Leto with a Q+A and reception following the screening. 

Panelists for the 2013 Film Independent Forum include:

Hadrian Belove, Founder and Executive Director, Cinefamily

Julie Parker Benello, Co-Founder, Chicken & Egg Pictures

Nina Yang Bongiovi, COO & Head of Film, JuntoBox Films; Head of Production, Significant Productions

Josh Braun, Co-Founder, Submarine Entertainment

Lisa Callif, Partner, Donaldson + Callif

Lisa Kleiner Chanoff, Co-Founder, Catapult Film Fund

Karin Chien, producer, Circumstance

Russell Collins, Conference Director, Art House Convergence

Stuart Cornfeld, Partner, Red Hour Films

Babacar Diene, Vice President of Acquisitions, Voltage Pictures

Neal Edelstein, 
Founder, Hooked Digital Media

Craig A. Emanuel, Partner & Chair, Loeb & Loeb

Nicolas Gonda, Co-Founder & CEO, TUGG

Lauren Greenfield, producer/director, The Queen of Versailles

Matthew Greenfield, Senior Vice President of Production, Fox Searchlight

Marc Hofstatter, Film Lead, Indiegogo

Chris Horton, Director, Artist Services, Sundance Institute

Dallas Buyers Club
"Dallas Buyers Club"

Daniel Kellison, Founder, JASH

Pedro Kos, editor, The Crash Reel, Waste Land

Jennifer Kushner, Director, Artist Development, Film Independent

Lisa Leeman, writer/director, One Lucky Elephant

Judi Levine, producer, The Sessions

Ben Lewin, writer/director, The Sessions

John Lightfoot, Program Officer, The California Documentary Project

Dylan Marchetti, Founder, Variance Films

Andy Merkin, Head of Special Projects/Transmedia, Mirada Studios

Luis Ortiz, Managing Director, Latino Public Broadcasting

Nicholas Ozeki, writer/director, Mamitas

Lisanne Pajot, director/producer/cinematographer/editor, Indie Game: The Movie

Greg Pak, writer/director, Robot Stories; writer, Vision Machine

Stephan Paternot, Co-Founder & chairman, Slated

Casey Pugh, Co-Founder, VHX

Samuel Roberts, Festival Director, IndieCade; Assitant Director, Interactive Media Program, USC School of Cinematic Arts

Mike Rosenstein, Director of Digital Content, Red Hour Films

Gary Rubin, Executive Vice President, Cohen Media Group

Marc Schiller, CEO, Bond Strategy and Influence

Paula Manzanedo Schmit, Vice President, Film Finances, Inc.

Jill Soloway, writer/director, Afternoon Delight

Jonathan Stern, Executive Producer & writer, Abominable Pictures

James Swirsky, director/producer/cinematographer/editor, Indie Game: The Movie

Rahdi Taylor, Film Fund Director, Sundance Documentary Film Program

Michele Turnure-Salleo, Director, Filmmaker360, San Francisco Film Society

Lucy Walker, director, The Crash Reel, Waste Land

Jamie Wilkinson, Co-Founder, VHX