Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...
Celebrating 17 Years of Film.Biz.Fans.
by Nigel M Smith
December 20, 2013 2:42 PM
  • |

Former Focus Features CEO James Schamus to Be Honored by Writers Guild Awards

James Schamus and Ang Lee

Months after being ousted as Focus Features' CEO, James Schamus will be honored with the Evelyn F. Burkey Award at the 66th Annual Writers Guild Awards that take place in New York on February 1, 2014.

Schamus, who's been a Guild member since 1997, has received an Oscar nomination for his screenplay for "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon." He won Best Screenplay at the 1997 Cannes Film Festival for "The Ice Storm." As the co-founder of Focus, he was responsible for releasing "Brokeback Mountain," "Milk," "Lost in Translation," this year's "Dallas Buyers Club" and many other critically acclaimed films.

The Evelyn F. Burkey Award is awarded those who have dedicated their professional life to supporting and helping writers. 

“As a writer, teacher and studio executive, James Schamus has honored the art of screenwriting and championed the work of his colleagues with commitment and taste, making him an excellent choice to receive the Burkey Award,” said Michael Winship, president of Writers Guild of America, East. “As a friend and associate, I am especially delighted that James is receiving this honor. The films he has written and overseen combine great style and substance, entertainment and purpose.”