Afternoon Delight

Best Breakthrough Performer
The nominees: Dane DeHaan in Kill Your Darlings, Kathryn Hahn in Afternoon Delight, Michael B. Jordan in Fruitvale Station, Lupita Nyong’o in 12 Years a Slave, Robin Weigert in Concussion

Who will win
NMS: No newcomer this year has more buzz that “12 Years a Slave” favorite Lupita Nyong’o. She’s an undeniable revelation and leaves a lasting impression the Gothams will likely reward.

PK: This category has almost never gone for the Oscar favorite (last year it was Emayatzy Corinealdi over Quvenzhané Wallis), but I just can't decide who could really upset Lupita. So I'll go with her as well, though I'm fully expecting to be surprised.

Who should win
NMS: Kathryn Hahn’s been a working actress for a long while now but in “Afternoon Delight” she's afforded her first lead role and she kills it delivering her most fully realized performance yet, proving she's more than ready for the big leagues.

PK: I loved Hahn too. And everyone in this category, for that matter. But Dane DeHaan was in "Kill Your Darlings" and no one seems to be talking about it. So I'd love if the Gothams helped change that.

Amy Seimetz, Upstream Color

Best Breakthrough Director
The nominees: Ryan Coogler for Fruitvale Station, Adam Leon for Gimme the Loot, Alexandre Moors for Blue Caprice, Stacie Passon for Concussion, Amy Seimetz for Sun Don’t Shine

Who will win
NMS: Although her feature debut “Sun Don’t Shine” was all but ignored by audiences, the Gothams clearly have a soft spot for Renaissance gal Amy Seimetz, also nominated in the Best Actress category for “Upstream Color.” Expect her to win this honor to toast to a stellar year.

PK: I, on the other hand, expect Ryan Coogler.

Who should win
NMS: All newcomers are deserving but Seimetz deserves recognition most for her banner year. Plus “Sun Don’t Shine” is a total knock-out.

PK: I'm going to match your will/should duo and go with Coogler. Though -- and I know this sounds like a cop-out -- I'd be sincerely pleased if any of these folks won.

"The Act of Killing"
"The Act of Killing"

Best Documentary
The nominees: The Act of Killing, The Crash Reel, First Cousin Once Removed, Let the Fire Burn, Our Nixon

What will win
NMS: "The Act of Killing." Considering its competition, I’d be shocked if Joshua Oppenheimer’s staggering debut was overlooked.

PK: I wouldn't be shocked if "First Cousin Once Removed" or "Let The Fire Burn" upset, but I have to say "The Act of Killing" as well.

What should win
NMS: Challenging and brave in ways few docs are, "The Act of Killing" is impossible to ignore and worth championing.

PK: Absolutely agree. I really hope this is the first of many doc awards "The Act of Killing" wins this season.

Sign up HERE for Indiewire's Awards Season newsletter and receive a twice-weekly email roundup of our awards stories, hand-picked by our editors from across the Indiewire Network, plus additional coverage in the final run up to the Oscars.