IFP/New York Announces Breakthrough Actor and Director Nominees for December Gotham Awards

by Brian Brooks

Joshua Marston on the set of "Maria Full of Grace" with Catalina Sandino Moreno. Both are nominated for 2004 Gotham Awards. Photo courtesy of Fine Line Features.

IFP/New York announced the nominees for the Breakthrough Actor and Breakthrough Director awards for the 2004 Gotham Awards on December 1st. Nine awards will comprise the Gothams this year for the first time, including talent from the U.S. and abroad. Previously, the awards consisted of six honors focused exclusively on the New York community. IFC will broadcast the presentation of the Breakthrough Actor and Director Awards in a live broadcast.

"The list of nominees for this year's Breakthrough Awards reflects some of New York's brightest emerging talent in independent film today," commented Michelle Byrd, executive director of IFP/New York in a statement. "Each has achieved masterful feats in his/her role, bringing characters to life in unique and powerful ways. In addition, the directorial debut award nominees represent a class of talent who have pushed the boundaries of storytelling and filmmaking to create innovative and thought-provoking films that have attracted all types of audiences."

Breakthrough Actor Award Nominees:

Mos Def for "The Woodsman" (Newmarket Films)

Anthony Mackie for "Brother to Brother" (Wolfe)

Catalina Sandino Moreno for "Maria Full of Grace" (HBO Films & Fine Line Features)

Dallas Roberts for "A Home At the End of the World" (Warner Independent Pictures)

Ensemble Cast of "Everyday People" (HBO)

Breakthrough Director Award Nominees:

Rodney Evans, Writer/Director/Producer for "Brother to Brother" (Wolfe)

Debra Granik, Writer/Director for "Down to the Bone"

Nicole Kassell, Writer/Director for "The Woodsman" (Newmarket Films)

Joshua Marston, Writer/Director for "Maria Full of Grace" (HBO Films & Fine Line Features, 7/16/04)

Lori Silverbush, Writer/Director & Michael Skolnik, Director for "On The Outs"

Previously announced were the 2004 recipients of the esteemed Gotham Actor Award, to be presented to Don Cheadle, and the first ever "Celebrate New York Tribute" for Michel Gondry's film "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind."