Twelve students from nine colleges and universities were honored Saturday night as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 35th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. The 2008 gold medal winners are "On the Line" (Auf der Strecke), directed by Reto Caffi, for Honorary Foreign Film, "Viola: The Traveling Rooms of a Little Giant," directed by Shih-Ting Hung, in the Alternative category, "Zoologic," directed by Nicole Mitchell, in the Animation category, "As We Forgive," directed by Laura Waters Hinson, in the Documentary category, and "A Day's Work," directed by Rajeev Dassani, in the Narrative category. The U.S. students first competed in one of three regional competitions. Each of those regions was permitted to send as many as three finalist films in each of the four award categories. Academy members then screened the films and voted to select the winners. [Peter Knegt]