The 37th Rotterdam International Film Festival announced the prize money for their VPRO Tiger Awards Competition has been upped to $45,000. The competition, open only to first or second films, is chosen by an international jury and awards three equal cash prizes of $15,000. The festival also announced that Japanese filmmaker Kobayashi Masahiro as one of the festival's Filmmaker in Focus, with 10 of his films being screened. Masahiro will be showcased alongside American Robert Breer and Russian Svetlana Proskurina. The festival, which runs January 23-February 3, 2008, additionally announced programmed work from Dutch filmmakers, including Miriam van Veelan's "Megumi," Barbara Hanlo's "The Marsh" and Froujke Tana's feature debut "Links." [Peter Knegt]