Celebrating 17 Years of Film.Biz.Fans.
by Ramzi De Coster
October 4, 2013 9:30 AM
  • |

Jane Fonda to Receive 42nd AFI Life Achievement Award

Jane Fonda

Jane Fonda is to receive the 42nd AFI Life Achievement Award, the Chair of the American Film Institute's Board of Trustee Sir Howard Stinger announced.

Fonda has acted in more than 40 films throughout her career from comedic performances in "Cat Ballou"(1965) and "9 to 5"(1980) to her dramatic roles in "They Shoot Horses, Don't They?"(1969), "Julia" (1977), "The China Syndrome"(1979), "The Morning After" (1986), and "On Golden Pond" (1981) and more recently as Former First Lady Nancy Reagan in "Lee Daniels' The Butler."

Stringer called Fonda, "American film royalty." Since the first AFI Life Achievement Award first honored John Ford in 1973, the award has steadily grown to be an irreplaceable tribute to the advancement of acting and the performing arts.

The award will be presented to Fonda a gala tribute in Los Angeles on June 5, 2014.

You might also like: