Celebrating 17 Years of Film.Biz.Fans.
by Indiewire
November 3, 2011 4:35 AM
0 Comments
  • |

Updated: MoMA Unveils its 2012 "Contenders" Series

Lynne Ramsay's "We Need to Talk About Kevin." Oscilloscope.

The Museum of Modern Art has announced the program for The Contenders, its annual screening series of the most notable works from the year in film. The event opens with Clint Eastwood's "J. Edgar" on November 8th.

Five selected screenings will feature Q&As with either directors or actors involved with the particular film. Scheduled to appear are Jean Dujardin, Steve McQueen, Kristen Wiig, and
Alexander Payne.

The slate of screenings, chosen by the staff of the museum’s Department of Film, will not only feature award hopefuls such as “A Dangerous Method” and “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy,” but a good selection of more mainstream family favorites like “Rango,” “The Muppets,” and “Hugo.” Also on tap is a trio of Best Foreign Language film submissions: “Le Havre” (Finland), “A Separation” (Iran) and “Happy, Happy” (Norway).

The Contenders will be screened at The Roy and Niuta Titus Theaters in New York City from November 8, 2011–January 30, 2012.

[Editor's Note: This mistakenly stated previously that the MoMA series opened with "We Need to Talk About Kevin." That film is screening on November 30, while "J. Edgar" will launch the 2011 event.]

The current screening schedule is reproduced below:


Tuesday, November 8
8:00 J. Edgar. 2011. USA. Directed by Clint Eastwood. Print courtesy of Warner Bros.
Wednesday, November 9
8:00 My Week with Marilyn. 2011. Great Britain. Directed by Simon Curtis. Print courtesy of The Weinstein Company.
Wednesday, November 16
8:00 The Artist. 2011. France. Directed by Michel Hazanavicius. Print courtesy of The Weinstein Company. Post-screening discussion with Jean Dujardin.
Monday, November 21
7:00 Bridesmaids. 2011. USA. Directed by Paul Feig. Print courtesy of Universal Pictures. Post-screening discussion with Kristen Wiig.
Wednesday, November 23
7:00 The Tree of Life. 2011. USA. Directed by Terrence Malick. Print courtesy of Fox Searchlight Pictures.
Friday, November 25
7:00 Anonymous. 2011. United Kingdom/Germany. Directed by Roland Emmerich. Print courtesy of Sony Pictures.
Saturday, November 26
8:00 Drive. 2011. USA. Directed by Nicholas Wending Refn. Print courtesy of Film District.
Sunday, November 27
2:00 Midnight in Paris. 2011. Spain/USA. Directed by Woody Allen. Print courtesy of Sony Pictures Classics.
5:30 The Descendants. 2011. USA. Directed by Alexander Payne. Print courtesy of Fox Searchlight Pictures. Post-screening discussion with Alexander Payne.
Monday, November 28
8:00 Moneyball. 2011. USA. Directed by Bennett Miller. Print courtesy of Sony Pictures.
Friday, December 2
8:00 A Dangerous Method. 2011. Canada/Germany/UK/Switzerland. Directed by David Cronenberg. Print courtesy of Sony Pictures Classics.
4Saturday, December 3
8:00 The Rise of the Planet of the Apes. 2011. USA. Directed by Rupert Wyatt. Print courtesy of 20th Century Fox.
Sunday, December 4
4:00 Hugo. 2011. USA. Directed by Martin Scorsese. Print courtesy of Paramount Pictures.
Monday, December 5
7:00 The Silver Cliff (O Abismo Prateado). 2011. Brazil. Directed by Karim Ainouz. Print courtesy of RT Features.
Tuesday, December 6
7:00 Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy. 2011. France/UK/Germany. Directed by Tomas Alfredson. Print courtesy of Focus Features.
Friday, December 9
5:00 Rango. 2011. USA. Directed by Gore Verbinski. Print courtesy of Paramount Pictures. Post-screening discussion with Gore Verbinski.
Saturday, December 17
7:30 The Help. 2011. USA. Directed by Tate Taylor. Print courtesy of DreamWorks.
Sunday, December 18
4:30 !Women Art Revolution. 2010. USA. Directed by Lynn Hershman-Leeson.
Wednesday, December 21
7:00 A Separation. 2011. Iran. Directed Asghar Farhadi. Print courtesy of Sony Pictures Classics.
Monday, December 26
7:00 !Women Art Revolution. 2010. USA. Directed by Lynn Hershman-Leeson.
Wednesday, December 28
4:30 The Muppets. 2011. USA. Directed by James Bobin. Print courtesy of Walt Disney Pictures.
8:00 La Fille de Montreal. 2010. Canada. Directed by Jeanne Crépeau.
Thursday, December 29
8:00 Melancholia. 2011. Denmark/Sweden/France/Germany. Directed by Lars von Trier. Print courtesy of Magnolia Pictures.
Friday, December 30
8:00 Margin Call. 2011. USA. Directed by J.C. Chandor. Print courtesy of Roadside Attractions.
Saturday, December 31
2:00 Happy, Happy. 2010. Norway. Directed by Anne Sewitsky. Print courtesy of Magnolia Pictures.
Wednesday, January 4
8:00 Pariah. 2011. USA. Directed by Dee Rees. Print courtesy of Focus Features.
Thursday, January 5
8:00 Albert Nobbs. 2011. UK/Ireland. Directed by Rodrigo García. Print courtesy of Roadside Attractions.
Thursday, January 19
8:00 Into the Abyss. 2011. Germany/Canada. Directed by Werner Herzog. Print courtesy of IFC Films.
Saturday, January 21
8:00 Two Years at Sea. 2011. UK. Directed by Ben Rivers.
Thursday, January 26
8:00 Pina. 2011. Germany/France/UK. Directed by Wim Wenders. Print courtesy of IFC Films.
Monday, January 30
7:30 Return. 2011. USA. Directed by Liza Johnson. Print courtesy of Required Viewing.
Post-screening discussion with Liza Johnson.

You might also like:

0 Comments