Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...
Celebrating 17 Years of Film.Biz.Fans.
by Oliver MacMahon
June 13, 2014 1:51 PM
0 Comments
  • |

Make Your Mark: 52 Hour Film Competition Judged by Danny Devito (Among Others) Leads to Academy Awards

Danny DeVito in 'It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia' Patrick McElhenney/FX

You want to make it big? Get your name up in lights? Then get yourself together, because Make Your Mark, a short film competition presented by the Producers Guild of America and Cadillac, will run at the end of this month and could certainly give you a helping hand. Commencing at 5:00pm ET/ 2:00pm PT on Friday June 27, participants will have the same assignment and exactly fifty-one hours to make and submit a film. (Due date: June 29th at 8:00pm ET/ 5:00PM PT) The films will then be evaluated by celebrity judges and top PGA producers, including Danny Devito, Kathy Bates, Michael Douglas and Gary Lucchesi.

From all submissions, ten semi-finalists will be chosen to compete for the opportunity to be one of the three finalists, who will receive a $30,000 production budget along with additional resources. They'll also get up to $3,000 to cover travel and accommodations to Los Angeles (if applicable), where they will create a new short film for the final phase of the contest. A notable PGA producer will mentor each filmmaker during this part of the filmmaking process, and the final winning producer’s work will be highlighted in a 30 second Cadillac TV spot (with the producer credited by name) during the world’s greatest celebration of filmmaking -- the ABC telecast of the 2015 Academy Awards.  

For more information go to the PGA's website. Also, check out their video below:

0 Comments