Oren Moverman's "The Messenger" led the winners of the 35th edition of the Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville. A jury presided over by Jean-Pierre Jeunet awarded Moverman's film - which stars Ben Foster, Woody Harrelson and Samantha Morton - the fest's Grand Prix. It also won the International Critic's Prize. "Messenger" - which debuted at Sundance earlier this year - is being released in the US this November through Oscilloscope Laboratories. The festival's jury also consisted of Hiam Abbas, Emilie Dequenne, Deborah François, Sandrine Kiberlain, Géraldine Pailhas, Dany Boon, Jean-Loup Dabadie, Patrice Leconte and Bruno Podalydès.

Other major winners at the fest - which ran September 4-13 - included Lee Daniels' "Precious" and Cary Joji Fukunaga's "Sin Nombre," which tied for the Prix du Jury, and Lynn Shelton's "Humpday," which won the Cartier Newcomer Award.