Michael Moore at DCTV's Documentary Theatre's Groundbreaking
Michael Moore at DCTV's Documentary Theatre's Groundbreaking

Acclaimed documentary filmmakers Michael Moore, Alex Gibney and Morgan Spurlock joined together on Tuesday morning with top New York City officials to celebrate the groundbreaking for the Downtown Community Television Center's brand new documentary-only theater. The 73 seat, digital cinema will be the first of its kind in the U.S. and will provide theatrical runs for non-fiction filmmakers for Academy Award qualification.

READ MORE: 10 Things Michael Moore Wants You To Know About the Academy's New Doc Rules

Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg, Manhattan Borough President Scott M. Stringer, Commissioner Kate Levin, Councilwoman Margaret Chin and Gal Brewer were also in attendance.

The state of the art venue is an important addition to a city known for its documentary filmmaking. The theater will be constructed on the ground floor of DCTV's current firehouse space and is expected to open in early 2015. DCTV co-founder Jon Alpert stated, "For people who love docs, this is their home.  This theater is a place that celebrates their work."

DCTV also announced they will be forming an advisory council whose founding members will include: Michael Moore, Alex Gibney, Morgan Spurlock, Matthew O'Neil, Brooke Adams, James Gandolfini, Emmy nominated producer Daniel J. Chalfen, Abigal Disney, Emmy-winning Ellen Goosenberg, Oscar-winning filmmaker Barbara Kopple, Caitrin McKiernan, HBO Doc's President Sheila Nevins,  Academy Award Nominee Sam Pollard and Oscar-winners Alan and Susan Raymond.

Michael Moore said, "I am proud to be a founding member of America's first all-documentary cinema. This is a historic day for movies in America and I look forward to the inspiration this theater will bring to other cities across the country seeking to build their own all doc movie theater."