Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...
Celebrating 17 Years of Film.Biz.Fans.
by Peter Knegt
December 16, 2008 8:54 AM
  • |

Santa Barbara Names Virtuosos Award Recipients

Viola Davis, Rosemarie DeWitt, Sally Hawkins, Richard Jenkins, Melissa Leo and Michael Shannon have been named the Santa Barbara International Film Festival's 2009 Virtuosos Award recipients. The awards, honoring the year's standout performers, will be presented Wednesday, January 28 at the 24th edition of the Fest, which runs January 22-February 1, 2009. "Each of these virtuosos have dazzled us with some of the most unexpected, scene-stealing, heart-breaking, uncompromising, fearless and startling performances of the year," said SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling in a statement. Last year's recipients of this inaugural award were Casey Affleck, Marion Cotillard, James McAvoy, Ellen Page and Amy Ryan.