Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Sundance 2013: The Complete Buyers Guide

Photo of Jay A. Fernandez By Jay A. Fernandez | Indiewire January 17, 2013 at 1:02PM

Sundance is about the movies -- and thank goodness for that. Some of the most distinctive filmmaking in any year comes from fresh, new artistic voices first exposed at the annual celebration of independent film that takes place in Park City.



“Anita” – CAA
Director: Freida Mock

“Linsanity” – CAA
Director: Evan Leong


“Halley” – Visit Films
Director: Sebastian Hofmann; Screenwriters: Sebastian Hofmann, Julio Chavezmontes

NEXT <=>

“Blue Caprice” – Cinetic Media
Director: Alexandre Moors; Screenwriters: R.F.I. Porto, Alexandre Moors

“Computer Chess” – The Film Sales Company
Director and screenwriter: Andrew Bujalski

“Escape from Tomorrow” – Cinetic Media
Director and screenwriter: Randy Moore

“I Used to Be Darker”– Paradigm & George Rush
Director: Matthew Porterfield; Screenwriters: Amy Belk, Matthew Porterfield

“It Felt Like Love” – Visit Films
Director and screenwriter: Eliza Hittman

“Milkshake” – Cinetic Media
Director: David Andalman; Screenwriters: David Andalman, Mariko Munro

“Newlyweeds” – Circus Road Films
Director and screenwriter: Shaka King

“Pit Stop” – Preferred Content
Director: Yen Tan; Screenwriters: Yen Tan, David Lowery

“A Teacher” – ICM Partners
Director and screenwriter: Hannah Fidell

“This is Martin Bonner” – ICM Partners & Traction Media
Director and screenwriter: Chad Hartigan


“Ass Backwards” – UTA
Director: Chris Nelson; Screenwriters: June Diane Raphael, Casey Wilson

“Hell Baby” – CAA
Directors and screenwriters: Robert Ben Garant, Thomas Lennon

“In Fear” – Studiocanal
Directed and story by: Jeremy Lovering

“kink” – Preferred Content
Director: Christina Voros

“Magic Magic”– UTA
Director and screenwriter: Sebastián Silva

“The Rambler” – XYZ Films
Director and screenwriter: Calvin Lee Reeder

Directors: Simon Barrett, Adam Wingard, Edúardo Sanchez, Gregg Hale, Timo Tjahjanto, Gareth Huw Evans, Jason Eisener; Screenwriters: Simon Barrett, Jamie Nash, Timo Tjahjanto & Gareth Huw Evans, John Davies

“Virtually Heroes” – Paradigm
Director: GJ Echternkamp; Screenwriter: Matt Yamashita

“We Are What We Are” – WME
Director: Jim Mickle; Screenwriters: Nick Damici, Jim Mickle


“A.C.O.D.” – WME
Director: Stuart Zicherman; Screenwriters: Ben Karlin, Stuart Zicherman

“Before Midnight” – Cinetic Media
Director: Richard Linklater; Screenwriters: Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, Richard Linklater

“Big Sur” – WME
Director and screenwriter: Michael Polish

“Breathe In” – UTA
Director: Drake Doremus; Screenwriters: Drake Doremus, Ben York Jones

“Don Jon's Addiction” – WME & CAA
Director and screenwriter: Joseph Gordon-Levitt

“The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete” – CAA
Director: George Tillman Jr.; Screenwriter: Michael Starrbury

“jOBS” – CAA
Director: Joshua Michael Stern; Screenwriter: Matt Whiteley

“The Look of Love” – Studiocanal
Director: Michael Winterbottom, Screenwriter: Matt Greenhalgh

“Lovelace” – Millennium / Nu Image
Directors: Rob Epstein, Jeffrey Friedman; Screenwriter: Andy Bellin

“The Necessary Death of Charlie Countryman” – CAA
Director: Fredrik Bond; Screenwriter: Matt Drake

“Prince Avalanche” – Cinetic Media
Director and screenwriter: David Gordon Green

“Sweetwater” – Preferred Content
Director: Logan Miller; Screenwriters: Logan and Noah Miller; Story by: Andrew McKenzie

“Two Mothers” – CAA
Director: Anne Fontaine; Screenwriter: Christopher Hampton

“Very Good Girls” – CAA
Director and screenwriter: Naomi Foner

“The Way, Way Back” – WME & CAA
Directors and screenwriters: Nat Faxon, Jim Rash


“99% - The Occupy Wall Street Collaborative Film” – Paradigm
Directors: Audrey Ewell, Aaron Aites, Lucian Read, Nina Kristic

“After Tiller” – Cinetic Media
Directors: Martha Shane, Lana Wilson

“Blackfish” – Submarine Entertainment
Director: Gabriela Cowperthwaite

“Blood Brother” – WME & Preferred Content
Director: Steve Hoover

“Citizen Koch” – Submarine Entertainment
Directors: Carl Deal, Tia Lessin

“Cutie and the Boxer” – Submarine Entertainment
Director: Zachary Heinzerling

“Dirty Wars” – Submarine Entertainment
Director: Richard Rowley

“God Loves Uganda” – Submarine Entertainment
Director: Roger Ross Williams

“Inequality for All” – WME
Director: Jacob Kornbluth

“Narco Cultura” – CAA
Director: Shaul Schwarz

“Twenty Feet From Stardom” – Submarine Entertainment
Director: Morgan Neville


“Afternoon Delight” – UTA
Director and screenwriter: Jill Soloway

“Ain't Them Bodies Saints” – WME & Cassian Elwes
Director and screenwriter: David Lowery

“Austenland” – UTA
Director: Jerusha Hess; Screenwriters: Jerusha Hess, Shannon Hale

“C.O.G.”– UTA & Preferred Content
Director and screenwriter: Kyle Patrick Alvarez

“Concussion” – Paradigm
Director and screenwriter: Stacie Passon

“Emanuel and the Truth About Fishes” – Preferred Content
Director and screenwriter: Francesca Gregorini

“Fruitvale” – WME
Director and screenwriter: Ryan Coogler

“In a World...” – UTA
Director and screenwriter: Lake Bell

“Kill Your Darlings” – UTA& Cassian Elwes
Director: John Krokidas; Screenwriters: Austin Bunn, John Krokidas

“The Lifeguard” – CAA
Director and screenwriter: Liz W. Garcia

“May in the Summer” – Elle Driver
Director and screenwriter: Cherien Dabis

“Mother of George”– Paradigm
Director: Andrew Dosunmu, Screenwriter: Darci Picoult

“The Spectacular Now” – UTA
Director: James Ponsoldt; Screenwriters: Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber

“Touchy Feely”– UTA & Submarine Entertainment
Director and screenwriter: Lynn Shelton

“Toy's House” – Cinetic Media
Director: Jordan Vogt-Roberts; Screenwriter: Chris Galletta


“Circles” – Memento Films
Director: Srdan Golubovic; Screenwriters: Srdjan Koljevic, Melina Pota Koljevic

“Crystal Fairy”– UTA
Director and screenwriter: Sebastián Silva

“The Future” – Visit Films
Director and screenwriter: Alicia Scherson

“Lasting” – Traction Media
Director and screenwriter: Jacek Borcuch

“Metro Manila” – ICM Partners
Director: Sean Ellis; Screenwriters: Sean Ellis, Frank E. Flowers


“Fallen City” – Cat & Docs
Director: Qi Zhao

“Fire in the Blood” – Film Transit
Director: Dylan Mohan Gray

“Google and the World Brain” – Film Transit
Director: Ben Lewis

“Pussy Riot – A Punk Prayer”  – Cinetic Media
Directors: Mike Lerner, Maxim Pozdorovkin

“The Square”  – Cinetic Media
Director: Jehane Noujaim

“The Summit” – Submarine Entertainment
Director: Nick Ryan

“Who Is Dayani Cristal?”– Submarine Entertainment
Director: Marc Silver

Click through to see the films listed alphabetically.

This article is related to: Sundance Film Festival, Festivals, Acquisitions

IndieWire Newsletters

Win an Apple TV set before it's released! in News - Indiewire on LockerDome