Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

'Armadillo,' 'Better This World' and 'Enemies of the People' Nominated for News and Doc Emmy Awards

Photo of Alison Willmore By Alison Willmore | Indiewire July 12, 2012 at 12:48PM

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the nominations for the 33rd Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards this morning. Among the nominees are docs "Armadillo," which received four nods and "The Battle for Marjah," "Better This World" and "Enemies of the People," which each received three.
HBO 'Reagan'


HBO Documentary Films (HBO): "Reagan"
Producer/Director: Eugene Jarecki
Producer Kathleen Fournier
Executive Producers: Nick Frasier, Sheila Nevins
Senior Producer Lisa Heller
Co‑Producers Melinda Shopsin, Christopher St. John

HBO Documentary Films (HBO): "The Strange History of Don't Ask, Don't Tell"
Director/Producers Fenton Bailey, Randy Barbato
Producers Mona Card, Gabriel Rotello
Executive Producer: Sheila Nevins
Supervising Producer Jacqueline Glover

Independent Lens (PBS): "A Film Unfinished"
Director/Producer Yael Hersonski
Producers Itay Ken‑Tor, Noemi Schory
Executive Producer: Sally Jo Fifer
Senior Series Producer Lois Vossen

National Geographic Explorer (National Geographic Channel): "Hitler's G.I. Death Camp"
Director: Steven Hoggard
Executive Producer: Char Serwa
Producer Daphna Rubin
Field Producer Alison Sargent
Senior Vice President, Production Michael Cascio

Rising: Rebuilding Ground Zero (Discovery Channel): "Stories from the Pile"
Executive Producers: Deborah Adler Myers, Christo Doyle, Justin Falvey, Danny Forster, Darryl Frank, Jonathan Hock, Bill Hunt, Vincent Kralyevich, Kristine Sabat, Steven Spielberg
Producers Mark E. Breeze, Christopher Cassel, Jessica Conway, Zaida Espada, Kaitlyn McIntyre

'Last Train Home'
PBS 'Last Train Home'


National Geographic Explorer (National Geographic Channel): "Marijuana Gold Rush"
Producer/Director: Marc Shaffer
Executive Producer: Robert Zakin
Co‑Producers Gabriel Garza, Brook Holson

POV (PBS): "Last Train Home"
Director: Lixin Fan
Executive Producers: Sally Jo Fifer, Stephen Gong, Simon Kilmurry
Co‑Executive Producer: Cynthia Lopez
Series Producer Yance Ford
VP, Programming and Production Chris White
Coordinating Producer Andrew Catauro

Vanguard (Current TV): "Sex, Lies, and Cigarettes"
Executive Producer: Adam Yamaguchi
Senior Executive Producer: Jim Fraenkel
Producers Jeffrey Plunkett, Alex Simmons
Correspondent Christof Putzel

'A Matter of Taste: Serving Up Paul Liebrandt'
HBO 'A Matter of Taste: Serving Up Paul Liebrandt'


HBO Documentary Films (HBO): "A Matter of Taste: Serving Up Paul Liebrandt"
Producer/Director: Sally Rowe
Producers Rachel Mills, Alan Oxman
Executive Producers: Benjamin Breen, Sheila Nevins
Co‑Producer Amy Foote

Independent Lens (PBS): "The Desert of Forbidden Art"
Director/Producers Tchavdar Georgiev, Amanda Pope
Executive Producer: Sally Jo Fifer
Senior Series Producer Lois Vossen

Independent Lens (PBS): "The Woodmans"
Director/Producer C. Scott Willis
Executive Producer: Sally Jo Fifer
Senior Series Producer Lois Vossen
Producers Neil Barrett, Jeff Werner

Planet Rock (VH1): "The Story of Hip Hop and the Crack Generation"
Producer/Directors: Richard Lowe, Martin Torgoff
Executive Producers: Brad Abramson, Ice‑T, Stephen Mintz, Jeff Olde, Shelly Tatro
Coordinating Producer Pam Widener

This article is related to: Television, TV News, Emmys, Last Train Home, Armadillo, POV, Independent Lens

IndieWire Newsletters

Win an Apple TV set before it's released! in News - Indiewire on LockerDome