Bob Odenkirk in 'The Birthday Boys'
IFC Bob Odenkirk in 'The Birthday Boys'

"The Birthday Boys," a new IFC sketch series from the Los Angeles-based troupe of the same name, will premiere on the network on October 18th at 10:30pm.

The half-hour series, which has been given a 10-episode first season run, comes from executive producers Bob Odenkirk and Ben Stiller, who have some experience in matters of comedy. Odenkirk, in fact, seems to be using the time available to him now that "Breaking Bad" is ending to really get back to his "Mr. Show" roots -- he's not only a writer on the series, he's set to appear in every episode in the first season.

The "Boys" are Jefferson Dutton, Dave Ferguson, Mike Hanford, Tim Kalpakis, Matt Kowalick, Mike Mitchell and Chris VanArtsdalen, who've made a name for themselves performing at LA's UCB Theatre and the Just for Laughs Festival. "We're happy to finally give Bob Odenkirk and Ben Stiller the platform for their big break," they said in the announcement, with Odenkirk adding that "The Birthday Boys are funny fellows and I intend to learn all their names by the end of the first season!" Here's a look at a sample sketch that offers a "behind the scenes" look at the writers' room process.