Miles Teller in "Whiplash"
Miles Teller in "Whiplash"

Damien Chazelle's "Whiplash," based on his short of the same name, owned the 2014 Sundance Film Festival awards, netting both the Grand Jury Prize (Dramatic) and the Dramatic Audience Award. The Grand Jury Prize for a documentary went to Tracy Droz Tragos and Andrew Droz Palermo's "Rich Hill," while the Documentary Audience Award went to "Alive Inside," directed by Michael Rossato-Bennett. Craig Johnson and Mark Heyman won the Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award for "The Skeleton Twins."

Full list of winners below:

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic: "Whiplash," directed by Damien Chazelle

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary: "Rich Hill," directed by Tracy Droz Tragos and Andrew Droz Palermo

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic: "To Kill a Man," directed by Alejandro Fernández Almendras

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary: "Return to Homs," directed by Talal Derki

"The Skeleton Twins."
Sundance "The Skeleton Twins."

Dramatic Audience Award: "Whiplash," directed by Damien Chazelle

Documentary Audience Award: "Alive Inside," directed by Michael Rossato-Bennett

World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award: "Difret," directed by Zeresenay Berhane Mehari

World Cinema Documentary Audience Award: "The Green Prince," directed by Nadav Schirman

The Best of NEXT Audience Award: "Imperial Dreams," directed by Malik Vitthal

Directing Award, Dramatic: "Fishing Without Nets," directed by Cutter Hodierne

Directing Award, Documentary: "The Case Against 8," directed by Ben Cotner and Ryan White

World Cinema Directing Award, Dramatic: "52 Tuesdays," directed by Sophie Hyde

World Cinema Directing Award, Documentary: "20, 000 Days on Earth," directed by Iain Forsyth

Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award: "The Skeletons Twins," written by Craig Johnson and Mark Heyman

World Cinema Screenwriting Award: "Blind," written by Eskil Vogt

Documentary Editing Award: "Watchers in the Sky," edited by Jenny Golden and Karen Sim

World Cinema Documentary Editing Award: "20, 000 Days on Earth," edited by Jonathan Amos

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Dramatic: "Low Down," shot by Christopher Blauvelt

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Documentary: "E-Team," shot by Rachel Beth Anderson and Ross Kauffman

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Dramatic: "Lilting," shot by Ula Pontiklos

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Documentary: "Happiness," shot by Thomas Balmes and Nina Bernfeld

US Dramatic Special Jury Prize for Breakthrough Talent: "Dear White People" writer-director Justin Simien

"Dear White People" still
"Dear White People" still

US Dramatic Special Jury Award for Musical Score: "Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter"

Special Jury Prize, Documentary: "The Overnighters," directed by Jesse Moss

US Documentary Special Jury Award for Use of Animation: "Watchers of the Sky"

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Documentary: "We Come As Friends," directed by Hubert Sauper

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Dramatic: "God Help the Girl," directed by Stuart Murdoch

Alfred P. Sloan Prize: "I Origins," directed by Mike Cahill

The Short Film Audience Award: "Chapel Perilous," directed by Matthew Lessner

Other Short Film Awards Winners