Back to IndieWire

"Fargo" Captures The Spirit

"Fargo" Captures The Spirit

"Fargo" Captures The Spirit

by Eugene Hernandez

The 1997 Independent Spirit Awards were presented during a
ceremony in Santa Monica today. The Coen Brothers’ “Fargo” was the big winner in a ceremony dotted with humor (keynoter Mike Leigh’s definition of
independent: “To make a film without interference by boneheads.”) and
touching emotion (a standing ovation for Muhammed Ali, with the tent
chanting: “Ali, Ali!”). indieWIRE will have a complete report by Eugene
Hernandez from LA in Monday’s edition. The complete list of winners is as

BEST FEATURE (Producer): Ethan Coen/”Fargo”

FIRST FEATURE (Director): Billy Bob Thorton/”Sling Blade

DIRECTOR: Joel Coen/”Fargo”

ACTRESS: Frances McDormand/”Fargo”

ACTOR: William H. Macy/”Fargo”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Elizabeth Pena/”Lone Star

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Benico Del Toro/”Basquiat

DEBUT PERFORMANCE: Heather Matarazzo/”Welcome To The Dollhouse

SCREENPLAY: Joel Coen, Ethan Coen/”Fargo”

FIRST SCREENPLAY: Joseph Tropiano, Stanley Tucci/”Big Night

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Roger Deakins/”Fargo”

FOREIGN FILM (Director): Mike Leigh/”Secrets & Lies


TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD: Leon Gast/”When We Were Kings

[indieWIRE was on the scene at the event and will present complete coverage
in Monday’s edition.]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged